University College

University College

Texas Success Initiative (TSI)

The Texas Success Initiative (TSI) has been developed by the state legislature* to ensure student success at institutions of higher learning. TSI requires that all incoming students enrolling at Texas public institutions of higher education be assessed academically to determine their level of college-readiness in Reading, Writing, and Math. The two major steps of the program are:

  1. Assessment of each student's academic skills in Reading, Writing, and Math before enrolling.
  2. Advisement into appropriate developmental coursework for any academic skills that need improvement.

Meeting TSI requirements are required for enrollment.  Any assessments that may be required are used for placing students in the appropriate coursework, not for admission purposes.

*Texas Administrative Code; Chapter 4, Subchapter C; Rule 4.51

UT Arlington Undergraduate requirements for TSI

Different TSI Statuses

You will be TSI Complete, TSI Not Complete, or TSI Liable for Reading, Writing, and/or Math.

  • TSI Complete means that you have met all TSI requirements for this area and do not need to take further action.
  • TSI Not Complete means that you have attempted an approved TSI test and have failed one or more portions of the test. State law requires these students to enroll in approved developmental education for this failed area.
  • TSI Liable means that you must take one of the approved tests in the area for which you are not already complete.
How can I find my TSI Status?

Your TSI status is noted on your Student Center in MyMav. Click on the TSI Status link at the very bottom of your Student Center page under the Admissions bar.

For more information about the Texas Success Initiative (TSI), please click the TSI Student Information Brochure here.

Note: Effective August 22, 2013 the TSI Assessment Test is the only state approved test to determine TSI.