Cadets Add Hall of Honor to Awards Lists

· Comment · Share

Comments Off

Retired Lt. Col. Lee B. Wilson, left, and Col. Lester Simpson are the 2010 inductees into the Military Science Hall of Honor.

Wilson earned a B.B.A. degree in 1962 as a distinguished military graduate. He served as rifleman, squad leader, first sergeant, and team executive officer of the Sam Houston Rifles, and in the Cadet Corps he advanced to platoon leader and deputy corps commander. His assignments included three combat tours with the 5th Special Forces Group in Vietnam, where he served as the commanding officer of a Mobile Strike Force Battalion. He later served as an executive officer to a major general and brigadier general in Korea. Following Korea, he was assigned to Fort Benning, Ga., where he was a weapons instructor team chief with the Infantry School and division chief of the System Development Division, Combat Development Directorate of the Infantry School. Wilson retired as a lieutenant colonel in 1984.

Simpson received an early commission in the Texas Army National Guard in 1980 and graduated as a distinguished military student in 1983 with a bachelor’s degree in general studies. As a cadet, he commanded the Sam Houston Rifles in 1979 and 1980, winning the State of Texas Championship. He was commissioned an infantry officer and served in key leadership and command assignments in the Texas Army National Guard. He is a graduate of the U.S. Army War College and received a Master of Strategic Studies degree in 2005. He was selected for promotion to brigadier general by the adjutant general of Texas for his leadership, personal, and professional credentials; multiple deployments and broad experiences; and commitment to mission accomplishment and taking care of soldiers.

Both Simpson and Wilson received numerous awards and decorations for their service.

More in Alumni News »

Comments are closed.