Professors Lauded for Teaching Innovation

· Comment · Share

Comments Off

Nine faculty members were among 63 educators recognized in August by the UT System Board of Regents for classroom excellence.

The Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award honors faculty who demonstrate extraordinary classroom performance and innovation at the undergraduate level.

Receiving the 2013 award were Josephine Caldwell-Ryan, sociology and anthropology adjunct assistant professor; Rebecca Deen, associate professor and Political Science Department chair; Susanna Khavul, management associate professor; Frank Lewis, electrical engineering professor and the Moncrief-O’Donnell Endowed Chair, UT Arlington Research Institute; Beth Mancini, professor and College of Nursing associate dean for undergraduate studies; Dan Popa, electrical engineering associate professor; Peggy Semingson, curriculum and instruction assistant professor; Seiichiro Tanizaki, chemistry and biochemistry lecturer; and Yvette Weatherton, civil engineering senior lecturer.

President Vistasp Karbhari says the recognition underscores the faculty’s commitment to excellence.

A great university has great teachers, and we are proud to have some of the very best,” he says. “Our faculty members serve one of the nation’s most diverse student bodies. They are committed to ensuring student success not just for those who enter UT Arlington at the top of their high school class, but for all who are committed to a better tomorrow for themselves and their families.”

More in Campus Buzz »

Comments are closed.