[UTA Magazine]




DR. NURSE. The School of Nursing will begin offering a doctoral degree this fall. Approved in April by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, the Ph.D. program will include two areas of study: academic role development and clinical research. The program is designed to prepare nurse scientists and to increase the number of qualified nursing faculty. UTA will become the sixth university in Texas to offer a nursing Ph.D.

LAND OF OPPORTUNITY. Hispanic Outlook in Higher Education has selected UTA for its list of the 250 U.S. universities offering the best opportunities for Hispanic students. Selections are based on a university’s ability to attract, enable, train and motivate Hispanic students. UTA also ranks among the magazine’s top 60 schools in number of bachelor’s degrees earned by Hispanics.

TEACH YOUR CHILDREN WELL. School of Education Dean Jeanne Gerlach has been appointed associate vice president of K-16 education at UTA. Hailed as a state and national leader in the K-16 arena, Dr. Gerlach was instrumental in forming the Texas K-16 Council, an organization dedicated to increasing student success, with a focus on low-income and minority students. She will remain dean of the School of Education.

WHAT’S IN A NAME CHANGE? The Theatre Arts Program is now the Department of Theatre Arts. The elevation reflects an ongoing increase in enrollment and an expanding bachelor of fine arts curriculum. For more, go to www.uta.edu/theatre.

A SHOT IN THE ARM. The Ferne Kyba and Pamela Smith R.N. to B.S.N. Endowed Scholarship Fund for outstanding undergraduate and graduate students has been established in the School of Nursing. Scholarships will be awarded annually to nursing students enrolled in or who have graduated from the R.N. to B.S.N. program. Dr. Kyba directed the program from 2000 until her retirement in May. Smith has served as the program’s senior secretary for three years.

AT YOUR FINGERTIPS. Graduate students will soon be able to earn a master of public administration degree online. Beginning this fall, the School of Urban and Public Affairs will offer its M.P.A. degree through the UT TeleCampus. The program prepares students to be effective public leaders through its emphasis on planning, decision-making and management of people, resources and programs. See www.telecampus.utsystem.edu/programs/MPA/mpa.html.

MOOT POINTS. Four students received All-America certificates in January from the American Moot Court Association. Andrew Stubblefield, Mark Melton, Jackie Isaacs and Nick Heron are the first UTA students to be so honored. Stubblefield and Melton reached the competition’s quarterfinal round, and Isaacs and Heron advanced to the round of 16. Moot court simulates an appellate court proceeding or appellate advocacy and is judged by students, attorneys and law faculty. Political science Associate Professor Charles Knerr advises UTA’s Moot Court Association.

COUNTRY COMES TO CAMPUS. Cameras were rolling in March as Country Music Television/High Noon Productions shot footage for a segment on country singer Chris Cagle. A UTA student in the late 1980s, Cagle will be featured in the CMT series Got Me in With the Band. The show documents what happens when a fan spends a day with a country star. In April, Cagle’s self-titled second album debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard country charts.

HARD-CORPS SERVICE. Americorps-UTA has received the United Way of Metropolitan Tarrant County’s 2002 Group Volunteer Award. Members provided assistance to approximately 2,500 families and logged nearly 20,000 service hours last year. The School of Social Work’s Community Services Development Center administers the Americorps-UTA program.

AND THE WINNER IS. The Southwest Theatre Association named Visiting Assistant Professor Angela Inman its Professional Theatre Artist of the Year for 2002. The organization also recognized Department of Theatre Arts Chairman Kim LaFontaine with its Outstanding University Theatre Faculty Award. The Southwest Theatre Association, the oldest regional theater organization in the United States, encompasses Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico and Arizona.

shim shim shim shim shim shim shim