[UTA Magazine]


Fab faculty
Professors honored for research, teaching

Two professors recently received prestigious national awards recognizing them among the nation’s top young researchers.

The Office of Naval Research named electrical engineering Assistant Professor Qilian Liang a recipient of its Young Investigator Award.

Young Investigator winners perform research in science and engineering that is critical to the Navy and Marine Corps. Dr. Liang will receive $100,000 per year for three years for his research involving sensor networks.

Chemistry Assistant Professor Dmitry Rudkevich was named a Sloan Research Fellowship recipient, recognizing him as one of the nation’s best young scientists. Dr. Rudkevich will receive a two-year, $40,000 grant to conduct research on the supramolecular chemistry of gases and other areas.

At UTA’s spring faculty meeting, social work Assistant Professor David Woody received the Chancellor’s Council Outstanding Teaching Award, and English Senior Lecturer Vicki Sapp received the Provost’s Award for Exellence in Teaching.

Also recognized were computer science and engineering Professor Sharma Chakravarthy for Outstanding Research Achievement and physics Professor Alexander Weiss for Distinguished Record of Research Achievement.

shim shim shim shim shim shim shim