[UTA Magazine]




ONLINE EXCELLENCE. Three of UTA’s online graduate programs have been named among the best in the nation by U.S. News & World Report. Making the magazine’s list of “Best of the Online Graduate Programs” was the College of Business Administration’s MBA, the College of Engineering’s graduate program and the School of Education’s master of education offering. The MBA, offered through the UT TeleCampus, was the only professionally accredited online program in Texas selected.

THE MAGNIFICENT SEVEN. The late Coleen Shannon, longtime social work professor and founder of the Community Service Clinic, was among seven former faculty members named professor emeritus at the fall faculty meeting. Also honored were Burke Burkart (Geology), Donald W. Cantwell (Finance and Real Estate), James R. Erickson (Psychology), Marion E. Moore (Mathematics), Zoé Moorer (Music) and Jerry C. Wofford (Management). The professor emeritus title is conferred upon retired professors for exemplary service and dedication to UTA and the community.

WINNING FORMULA. Mechanical engineering sophomore Angie Hamilton drove her way to a first-place finish in September at the Sports Car Club of America national competition in Topeka, Kan. Driving the Formula SAE race car in the A-Modified Ladies Class, she finished the course five seconds faster than her nearest competitor.

TARGET MARKET. UTA is offering a course on Hispanic marketing, believed to be one of the nation’s first, beginning with the spring semester. The course is designed to expand the cultural intelligence of students by helping them make smarter decisions about Hispanic consumers. Edward T. Rincón, president of Dallas-based Rincón & Associates, is teaching the course.

ROAD WARRIOR. The Texas Department of Transportation has recognized computer science and engineering Professor Roger Walker’s research on road conditions as a top innovation for 2002. Dr. Walker developed and implemented computer systems and software that use laser sensors to yield a fast and accurate record of road surface conditions. The research is expected to help alleviate rough, rutted roads that create safety hazards and damage vehicles.

LONG ARM OF THE LAW. The School of Urban and Public Affairs has received a $180,000 U.S. State Department grant to establish a partnership with the School of Law at the University of Kragujevac in Serbia. SUPA faculty and doctoral students will team-teach the Serbian law faculty, concentrating on contemporary management information and techniques. The two-year partnership began in October.

A HEALTHY READ. Balanced attention to your health and well-being is essential to sustained professional achievement, according to a new book co-written by management Professor James C. Quick. The Financial Times Guide to Executive Health also identifies weaknesses and vulnerabilities that threaten the health and achievement of executives. Dr. Quick is a nationally recognized expert on stress in the workplace.

PLANNING AND ZONING. A plan by UTA graduate students to help the city of Shenandoah control its development has won the American Planning Association, Texas Chapter, Student Project Award for 2002. Students in the School of Urban and Public Affairs helped Shenandoah, located 18 miles south of Houston, establish future land usage areas and rewrite its zoning district. SUPA faculty members Ard Anjomani, Elise Bright and Jim Kunde worked with the students.

PRESCRIPTION FOR EXCELLENCE. School of Nursing Dean Elizabeth Poster recently received the Award for Excellence in Education from the American Psychiatric Nurses Association. Dr. Poster is editor of the Journal of Child and Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing. The organization also honored Jean Ashwill, director of the School of Nursing’s undergraduate student services, with the Award for Excellence in Leadership.

SHINING STAR. The Maverick Scholar Association was recently named a finalist for a Texas Higher Education Star Award. The MSA helps students succeed in their major, build personal connections with faculty and staff, develop strong study skills and make the most of campus resources. Established by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board in 2001, the award recognizes contributions toward the Texas higher education plan, “Closing the Gap by 2015.”

shim shim shim shim shim shim shim