Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Page Image for Team

Airborne Computing Networks


PI Team

Yan WanYan Wan: Personal Website

Dr. Yan Wan is currently an Associate Professor in the Electrical Engineering Department at the University of Texas at Arlington. She received her Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering from Washington State University in 2009 and then postdoctoral training at the University of California, Santa Barbara. Her research interests lie in developing fundamental theories and tools for the modeling, evaluation, and control tasks in large-scale dynamic networks and cyber-physical systems, with applications to air traffic management, airborne networking, systems biology, and complex information systems. Her research has been funded by the National Science Foundation, National Institute of Standards and Technology, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, and MITRE Corporation as subcontracts from Federal Aviation Administration. Dr. Wan's research has led to over 110 publications and successful technology transfer outcomes. Her contributions to the field of air traffic management, airborne networking, and general cyber-physical systems have been recognized by several prestigious awards, including the National Science Foundation Early Career Development (CAREER) Award, RTCA William E. Jackson Award, U.S. Ignite and GENI demonstration awards, IEEE WCNC Best Paper Award, UNT Early Career Award for Research and Creativity, and Tech Titan of the Future – University Level Award. Dr. Wan is a member of the AIAA Intelligent Systems Technical Committee.

Shengli FuShengli Fu: Personal Website

Dr. Fu is currently a Professor and Chair in the Electrical Engineering Department at the University of North Texas. He received his Ph.D. degree in Electrical & Computer Engineering from University of Delaware in August 2005, and M.S. degree in Computer Engineering from Wright State University in August 2002 and another M.S. degree in Communication and Electronic System from Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications in April 1997. His research interests can be categorized into three major areas: 1) coding and information theory: space-time coding and decoding, distributed coding, network coding, joint encryption and error-correction coding; 2) wireless communications: cooperative communications, wireless sensor networks, and security in wireless networks; 3) speech and visual signal processing: speech driven facial animation and speaker location.

Kejie LuKejie Lu: Personal Website

Dr. Lu is currently a Professor in Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at University of Puerto Rico at Mayagüez. He received his Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering (major in Telecommunications) from the University of Texas at Dallas in 2003. His research interests can be categorized into two major areas: 1) computer and communications networks: architecture and protocol design, performance evaluation, network security, and network coding; 2) wireless communications: space-time coding, channel capacity, and cooperative communication.

Junfei XieJunfei Xie: Personal Website

Dr. Xie is currently an assistant professor in the Department of Computer Science at the Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi. She got her Ph.D. degree in Computer Science and Engineering in 2016, and M.S. degree in Electrical Engineering in 2013 from University of North Texas. She received her B.S. degree in Electrical Engineering from University of Electronic Science and Technology of China in 2012. She is interested in dynamic system design and control, managing and mining big spatiotemporal data, airborne networks, complex information system, air traffic flow management, and wireless sensor network, etc.

Advisory Board

Jonathan P. How, Richard Cockburn Maclaurin Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Taskin Padir, Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering, Northeastern University.

Wenjing Lou, Professor, W. C. English Professor of Computer Science, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University.