VP for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Search

Search Committee

In August 2020 a search committee was appointed to recruit a new Vice President for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion.

Jim Spaniolo, Chair, Senior Advisor for External Engagement

Salma Adem, Vice President ad interim for University Advancement and Chief of Staff

Myrtle Bell, Professor, Department of Management

Michele Bobadilla, Senior Associate Vice President, Senior Associate VP Outreach & Community Engagement, Assistant Provost Hispanic Student Success

Michael Cho, Chair, Department of Bioengineering

Gautam Das, Associate Dean, College of Engineering

Jacqueline Fay, Faculty Senate, Chair-Elect

Jean Hood, Vice President for Human Resources

Margie Jackymack, Coordinator II, Special Programs, Department of English

Morteza Khaledi, Dean, College of Science

Adrian Parr, Dean, College of  Architecture, Planning and Public Affairs

Jason Shelton, Director, Center for African American Studies

Debra Woody, Senior Associate Dean and Associate Professor, School of Social Work

Christian Zlolniski, Director, Center for Mexican American Studies

VP for DEI Selection

On March 23, Interim President Teik C. Lim announced Dr. Bryan Samuel will join UTA in early May 2021 to lead and build the new Office of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, which will act as an administrative, intellectual, and community-oriented hub. Dr. Samuel was selected after a competitive, comprehensive national search that included an opportunity for him to engage with our campus and share his vision for pursuing inclusivity and excellence at UTA.