Faculty

Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty

Esther Betran

Professor

Esther Betran

Email: betran@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-1446

Office: ERB 431

Area: Molecular Evolution and Evolutionary Genomics

Joseph Boll

Assistant Professor

Joseph Boll

Email: joseph.boll@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-4045

Office: SEIR 342

Area: Microbiology

Cara Boutte

Assistant Professor

Cara Boutte

Email: cara.boutte@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-4044

Office: SEIR 345

Area: Microbiology, Molecular Biology, Biochemistry

Jonathan Campbell

Professor Emeritus

J.A. Campbell

Email: campbell@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2406

Office: LS 454

Area: Herpetology

Todd Castoe

Professor

Todd Castoe

Email: todd.castoe@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-9084

Office: ERB 433

Area: Comparative Genomics

Woo-Suk Chang

Associate Professor

Advisor: Prospective Students

Woo-Suk Chang

Email: wschang@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-3280

Office: LS 241

Area: Environmental Microbiology and Plant-Microbe Interactions

Paul Chippindale

Professor

Advisor: MS Non-Thesis Students

Teacher Certification

Paul Chippindale

Email: paulc@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2872

Office: LS 440A

Area: Evolution, Molecular Systematics

Shawn Christensen

Associate Professor

Shawn Christensen

Email: shawnc@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-0520

Office: ERB 333

Area: Mobile DNA, Molecular Biology & Biochemistry

Clay Clark

Professor

Chair

Clay Clark

Email: clay.clark@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-9226

Office: LS 337DA

Area: Biology, Biochemistry

Jeffery Demuth

Associate Professor

Associate Chair

Jeffery Demuth

Email: jpdemuth@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2653

Office: ERB 430

Area: Speciation Genetics and Genomics

Luke Frishkoff

Assistant Professor

Luke Frishkoff

Email: luke.frishkoff@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2819

Office: LS B28

Area: Ecology & Evolution

Matthew Fujita

Associate Professor

Matthew Fujita

Email: mkfujita@exchange.uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-1464

Office: ERB 429

Area: Evolutionary Genomics, Molecular Evolution

Piya Ghose

Assistant Professor

Piya Ghose

Email: piya.ghose@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-7132

Office: SEIR 346

Area: Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Genetics

James Grover

Professor

James Grover

Email: grover@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2872

Office: LS 206B, 468

Area: Aquatic Ecology

Robert McMahon

Professor Emeritus

Robert McMahon

Email: r.mcmahon@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2872

Office: LS 457A

Area: Physiology, Marine Biology

Laura Mydlarz

Professor

Associate Dean

Laura Mydlarz

Email: mydlarz@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-6264

Office: LS 337C, LS 243

Area: Cell Biology; Cellular Defenses of Marine Organisms

Sophia Passy

Associate Professor

Sophia Passy

Email: sophia.passy@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2415

Office: LS 225C

Area: Macroecology

Mark Pellegrino

Assistant Professor

Mark Pellegrino

Email: mark.pellegrino@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2986

Office: SEIR 340

Area: Cell Biology, Mitochondria, Stress Response

Alison Ravenscraft

Assistant Professor

Alison Ravenscraft

Email: alison.ravenscraft@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-0351

Office: LS 461

Area: Ecology & Evolution, Microbiology

Michael Roner

Associate Professor

Michael Roner

Email: roner@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-1302

Office: ERB 330

Area: Virology

Eric Smith

Associate Professor

Eric Smith

Email: e.smith@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-3616

Office: LS 452

Area: Systematics, Biogeography, Herpetology

Matthew Walsh

Associate Professor

Advisor: Current Ph. D. and MS Thesis Students

Matthew Walsh

Email: matthew.walsh@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-1546

Office: LS B32

Area: Evolutionary Ecology

Sen Xu

Assistant Professor

Sen Xu

Email: sen.xu@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2872

Office: LS B08

Area: Evolutionary and Environmental Genomics

Non-Tenure Track Faculty

Xavier Aranda

Lecturer

Xavier Aranda

Email: aranda@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-3573

Office: LS 351

Area: Forensics

Heather Arterburn

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Heather Arterburn

Email: heathera@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2309

Office: LS 236

Area: Plant Science

Heather Charles

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Heather Charles

Email: heather.charles@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2872

Office: LS 465

Area: Anatomy and Physiology

Jill Devito

Associate Professor of Instruction

Jill Devito

Email: jilldevito@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2872

Office: LS 460

Area: Behavior Ecology

Tim Henry

Professor of Instruction

Tim Henry

Email: dr.henry@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-7223

Office: LS 232 & CH 108A

Area: Anatomy, Physiology

Dylan Parks

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Dylan Parks

Email: dylan.parks@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-7263

Office: LS 459

Nicholas Pollock

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Nicholas Pollock

Email: nicholas.pollock@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-5732

Office: LS 466

Area: Anatomy, Physiology

Ashley Purgason

Vice Provost for the Division of Student Success

Ashley Purgason

Email: purgason@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-1745

Office: LS 214

Corey Roelke

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Corey Roelke

Email: croelke@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2872

Office: LS 464

Walter Schargel

Associate Professor of Instruction

Walter Schargel

Email: schargel@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-3068

Office: LS 462

Area: Systematics of Neotropical Amphibians and Reptiles

Whitney Tholen

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Whitney Tholen

Email: whitney.tholen@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-1511

Office: LS 344

Area: Microbiology, Immunology

Melissa Walsh

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Associate Chair

Melissa Walsh

Email: mjwalsh@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-0107

Office: LS 354

Area: Aquatic Ecology, Science Education

Malgosia Wilk-Blaszczak

Professor of Instruction

Malgosia Wilk-Blaszczak

Email: wilk@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-7472

Office: LS 353

Area: Neuroscience

Botanical Research Institute of Texas Faculty

Peter Warren Fritsch

Adjoint Professor

Peter Warren Fritsch

Email: pfritsch@brit.org

Phone #: 817-332-4441

Office: Botanical Research Institute of Texas

Area: Biodiversity, systematics, biogeography

Alejandra Vasco

Adjoint Professor

Alejandra Vasco

Email: avasco@brit.org

Phone #: 817-332-4441

Office: Botanical Research Institute of Texas

Area: Systematics and evolution of ferns and lycophytes

Adjunct Faculty

Zui Pan

Associate Professor

Zui Pan

Email: zui.pan@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2595

Office: LS 246

Area: College of Nursing and Health Innovation

Jon Weidanz

Associate Vice President of Research

Jon Weidanz

Email: weidanz@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-6831

Office: SEIR 370

Research Staff

Kimberly Bowles

Research Science Assistant II

Kimberly Bowles

Email: kimberly.bowles@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-9636

Office: LS B15

Area: Life Sciences Core Facility

Javier Rio

Research Scientist Assistant I

Javier Rio

Email: javierr@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-7178

Office: ERB 483

Graduate Advisors

Paul Chippindale

Professor

Advisor: MS Non-Thesis Students

Teacher Certification

Paul Chippindale

Email: paulc@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2872

Office: LS 440A

Area: Evolution, Molecular Systematics

Matthew Walsh

Associate Professor

Advisor: Current Ph. D. and MS Thesis Students

Matthew Walsh

Email: matthew.walsh@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-1546

Office: LS B32

Area: Evolutionary Ecology

Undergraduate Advisors

Alex Ferracuti

Academic Coordinator

Alex Ferracuti

Email: aferracuti@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2408

Office: LS 345A

Andrew Gardner

Advisor: Last Names A-E

Andrew Gardner

Email: andrew.gardner@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2408

Office: LS 346

Alejandro Hidalgo Moreno

Advisor: Last Names F-L

Alejandro Hidalgo Moreno

Email: alejandro.hidalgomoreno@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2408

Office: LS 347

Anna Niemeyer

Advisor: Last Names R-Z

Anna Niemeyer

Email: anna.niemeyer@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2408

Office: LS 345C

Camry Woodward

Advisor: Last Names M-Q

Camry Woodward

Email: camry.woodward@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2408

Office: LS 349

Staff, Administration

Clay Clark

Professor

Chair

Clay Clark

Email: clay.clark@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-9226

Office: LS 337DA

Area: Biology, Biochemistry

Melissa Walsh

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Associate Chair

Melissa Walsh

Email: mjwalsh@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-0107

Office: LS 354

Area: Aquatic Ecology, Science Education

Jeffery Demuth

Associate Professor

Associate Chair

Jeffery Demuth

Email: jpdemuth@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2653

Office: ERB 430

Area: Speciation Genetics and Genomics

Deann Darling

Office Assistant

Deann Darling

Email: deann.darling@uta.edu

Phone #: 827-272-2872

Office: LS 337

Kathleen Demuth

Accountant I

Kathleen Demuth

Email: kathleen.demuth@uta.edu

Phone #: 827-272-2872

Office: LS 337

Chris Magno

Support Specialist II

Chris Magno

Email: chris.magno@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2872

Office: LS 337

Greg Pandelis

Biological Curator

Collections Manager

Greg Pandelis

Email: gregory.pandelis@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-3615

Office: ARDRC

Ashley Priest

Administrative Services Officer

Ashley Priest

Email: ashley.priest@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2872

Office: LS 337

Sarah Giberman

Graduate Program Assistant

Sarah Giberman

Email: sarah.giberman@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2872

Office: LS 337A