Faculty & Staff

Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty

Tuncay Aktosun, Ph.D., Indiana University, 1986

Professor

Tuncay Aktosun

Email: aktosun@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-1545

Office: PKH 461

Area: Inverse Problems and Wave Propagation

James Alvarez, Ph.D., University of Texas - Austin, 1996

Professor

Graduate Advisor for M.A. Program

James Alvarez

Email: james.alvarez@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-5047

Office: PKH 404

Area: Mathematics Education

Gaik Ambartsoumian, Ph.D., Texas A&M University, 2006

Associate Professor

Gaik Ambartsoumian

Email: gambarts@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-3384

Office: PKH 443

Area: Inverse Problems and Computerized Tomography

Benito Chen-Carpenter, Ph.D., California Institute of Technology, 1979

Professor

Benito Chen-Carpenter

Email: bmchen@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-3913

Office: PKH 439

Area: Applied and Computational Mathematics

Minerva Cordero, Ph.D., University of Iowa, 1989

Professor

Associate Dean of Science for Academic Affairs

Minerva Cordero

Email: cordero@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-5062

Office: PKH 486

Area: Finite Geometries

Ruth Gornet, Ph.D., Washington University - St. Louis, 1993

Associate Professor

Ruth Gornet

Email: rgornet@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-1322

Office: PKH 419

Area: Inverse Spectral Geometry

Dimitar Grantcharov, Ph.D., University of California - Riverside, 2003

Professor

Dimitar Grantcharov

Email: grandim@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-1148

Office: PKH 421

Area: Representations of Lie Algebas and Superalgebras

Keaton Hamm, Ph.D., Texas A&M University, 2015

Assistant Professor

Keaton Hamm

Email: keaton.hamm@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-3261

Office: PKH 417

Area: Data Science and Computational Math

David Jorgensen, Ph.D., University of Nebraska - Lincoln, 1996

Professor

Associate Chair

David Jorgensen

Email: djorgens@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-5507

Office: PKH 429

Area: Commutative Algebra

Theresa Jorgensen, Ph.D., University of Nebraska - Lincoln, 2000

Associate Professor

Theresa Jorgensen

Email: jorgensen@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-1321

Office: PKH 434

Area: Mathematics Education

Hristo Kojouharov, Ph.D., University of Wyoming, 1998

Professor

Graduate Advisor for Ph.D. and M.S. Programs

Hristo Kojouharov

Email: hristo@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-5763

Office: PKH 403

Area: Numerical Analysis and Mathematical Biology

Andrzej Korzeniowski, Ph.D., Wroclaw University (Poland), 1978

Professor

Andrzej Korzeniowski

Email: korzeniowski@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-3595

Office: PKH 418

Area: Probability Theory and Stochastic Processes

Christopher Kribs, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin - Madison, 1997

Professor

Christopher Kribs

Email: kribs@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-5513

Office: PKH 483

Area: Mathematics Education and Mathematical Biology

Guojun Liao, Ph.D., University of California - Berkeley, 1985

Professor

Goujun Liao

Email: liao@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2647

Office: PKH 447

Area: Grid Generation and Differential Geometry

Ren-Cang Li, Ph.D., University of California at Berkeley, 1995

Professor

Ren-Cang Li

Email: rcli@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-0548

Office: PKH 428

Area: Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing

Chaoqun Liu, Ph.D., University of Colorado at Denver, 1989

Professor

Chaoquin Liu

Email: cliu@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2647

Office: PKH 447

Area: Computational Fluid Dynamics

Yue Liu (David), Ph.D., Brown University, 1994

Professor

Yue Liu (David}

Email: yliu@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-5680

Office: PKH 433

Area: Partial Differential Equations

Pedro Maia, Ph.D., University of Washington, 2014

Assistant Professor

Pedro Maia

Email: pedro.maia@uta.edu

Office: SEIR 218

Area: Data Science

Merlynd Nestell, Ph.D., Oregon State University, 1966

Professor

Merlynd Nestell

Email: nestell@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2983

Office: PKH 407

Area: Integral Equations

Suvra Pal, Ph.D., McMaster University (Canada), 2014

Assistant Professor

Suvra Pal

Email: suvra.pal@uta.edu

Office: SEIR 217

Area: Statistics

Souvik Roy, Ph.D., Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (India), 2015

Assistant Professor

Souvik Roy

Email: souvik.roy@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-5748

Office: SEIR 219

Area: PDE Optimal Control in Health Sciences and Computational PDE

Barbara Shipman, Ph.D., University of Arizona, 1996

Associate Professor

Barbara Shipman

Email: bshipman@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-2606

Office: PKH 437

Area: Geometry and Hamiltonian Dynamical Systems

Jianzhong Su, Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 1990

Professor

Department Chair

Jianzhong Su

Email: su@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-5684

Office: PKH 469

Area: Partial Differential Equations

Shan Sun-Mitchell, Ph.D., Indiana University, 1992

Professor

Shan Sun-Mitchell

Email: shan.sun@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-3827

Office: PKH 464

Area: Statistics

Michaela Vancliff, Ph.D., University of Washington, 1993

Professor

Michaela Vancliff

Email: vancliff@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-3932

Office: PKH 462

Area: Non-Commutative Algebra and Non-Commutative Algebraic Geometry

Li Wang, Ph.D., University of California, San Diego, 2014

Assistant Professor

Li Wang

Email: li.wang@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-3261

Office: PKH 438

Area: Optimization and Data Science

Dengdeng Yu

Assistant Professor

Dengdeng Yu

Email: dengdeng.yu@uta.edu

Office: ERB 456

Teaching Faculty

Ahmed Ali

Lecturer

Ahmed Ali

Email: aahmed@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-3261

Office: PKH 445

Aida Allen

Senior Lecturer

Aida Allen

Email: aida.allen@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-3261

Office: PKH 460

Rachid Atmai

Lecturer

Rachid Atmai

Email: rachid.atmai@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-3261

Office: PKH 449

Karl Backs

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Karl Backs

Email: kbacks@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-7163

Office: PKH 448

Shanna Banda, Ph.D., The University of Texas at Arlington, 2020

Associate Professor of Instruction

Assistant Department Chair

Shanna Banda

Email: sbanda@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-1749

Office: PKH 315 and 463

Area: Mathematics Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies

Janessa Beach Tassey

Lecturer

Janessa Beach Tassey

Email: jannessa.beach@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-3261

Office: PKH 408

Esteban Diaz

Lecturer

Esteban Diaz

Email: esteban.diaz@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-5259

Office: PKH 436

Nethali Fernando

Post-Doc

Nethali Fernando

Email: nethali.fernando@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-3261

Office: ERB

Mohsen Gheibi

Post-Doc

Mohsen Gheibi

Email: mohsen.gheibi@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-3261

Office: PKH 445

Jeremy Glass

Senior Lecturer

Jeremy Glass

Email: jglass@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-5683

Office: PKH 435

Sarah Hawkins

Lecturer

Sarah Hawkins

Email: sarah.hawkins@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-5515

Office: PKH 441

Mahmoud Jawad

Lecturer

Mahmoud Jawad

Email: mahmoud.jawad@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-3261

Office: PKH 453

Shujie Kang

Post-Doc

Shujie Kang

Email: shujie.kang@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-3261

Office: ERB

Mark Krasij

Senior Lecturer

Mark Krasij

Email: mkrasij@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-7564

Office: PKH 450

Alice Lubbe

Senior Lecturer

Alice Lubbe

Email: alubbe@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-7203

Office: PKH 444

Daniel Warren

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Daniel Warren

Email: dan.warren@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-5675

Office: PKH 440

Part-Time Teaching Faculty

Farid Derisavifard

Adjunct

Email: faridd@uta.edu

Office: PKH 452

Patricia Ellington

Adjunct

Email: pellingto@exchange.uta.edu

Office: Off-Campus

Jian Hao

Adjunct

Email: jian.hao@uta.edu

Office: PKH 452

Lynette Kenyon

Adjunct

Email: clkenyon@uta.edu

Office: Off-Campus

Yizeng Li

Adjunct

Email: yizeng@uta.edu

Office: PKH 452

Nancy Wolff

Adjunct

Email: wolff@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-0943

Office: PKH 484

Staff

Libby Carroll

Undergraduate Academic Advisor

Libby Carroll

Email: math.advising@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-3261

Office: PKH 489

Lona Donnelly

Administrative Services Officer II

Lona Donnelly

Email: lona@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-5259

Office: PKH 470

Zach Holleman

Administrative Assistant II

Zach Holleman

Email: zachary.holleman@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-3431

Office: PKH 471

Laura Holm

Learning Resource Center Coordinator

Laura Holm

Email: laura.holm@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-1749

Office: PKH 315

Yolanda Humphrey

Learning Resource Center Coordinator

Yolanda Humphrey

Email: yolanda.humphrey@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-1749

Office: PKH 315

Jessica Johnson

Coordinator

Jessica Johnson

Email: jessica.johnson@uta.edu

Phone #: 817-272-3261

Office: PKH 473

Michael Schmidtkunz

IT Specialist (DSA/ISA)

Michael Schmidtkunz