Skip to content

The University of Texas at ArlingtonThe University of Texas at Arlington

News & Events

Architecture Dean Honored by AIA Fort Worth

February 11, 2008

University of Texas at Arlington School of Architecture Dean Donald Gatzke, AIA was presented the President’s Award by the American Institute of Architecture’s Fort Worth Chapter. The award was given at the AIA Forth Worth’s Honors and Awards Dinner on January 22, 2008.

Dean Gatzke was recognized by the organization for his work with AIA Fort Worth and AIA Dallas in partnering with UT Arlington, and strengthening the bond between the university community and professionals in the area.

“He has truly reached out to the architecture community,” said outgoing 2007 AIA Fort Worth President Stephen Darrow, NCARB, AIA. “He has worked to get both the business and academic communities to realize the needs of the other, and to learn to respect those needs.”

In presenting the award, Darrow cited Dean Gatzke’s work with the AIA Fort Worth Student Design Awards Program, as well as his participation in Vision North Texas, the North Texas Council of Governments and the Urban Land Institute. Gatzke joined the AIA Fort Worth Executive Committee in 2007, where Darrow says “Don takes his board position seriously and is constantly looking for ways to further the relationship that we all feel is so important.”

AIA Fort Worth, a chapter of The American Institute of Architects (AIA), is a professional organization of architects from North Texas. AIA Fort Worth seeks to promote the value of architecture to the public, and to unify the membership in service to and growth of the profession. The Fort Worth Chapter was founded in 1946 and maintains a membership of over 400 architects.

Dean Gatzke