Skip to content

The University of Texas at ArlingtonThe University of Texas at Arlington

News & Events

Dye receives Honor Award for architecture course

April 8, 2009

Assistant Professor Wanda Dye was recently awarded a national AIA Education Honor Award for teaching excellence in her course titled “The Everyday City”. The purpose of the award is to discover and recognize the achievement of individuals who serve the profession as outstanding teachers. The jurors seek evidence of exceptional and innovative courses, initiatives, or programs that deal with broad issues, particularly in cross-disciplinary collaboration and/or within the broader community; contribute to the advancement of architecture education; have the potential to benefit and/or change practice; and/or promote models of excellence that can be appropriated by other educators. Jurors included Randy Byers, Robert Campbell, Julie Eizenberg, Deana Moore and Kate Schwennsen. The award winning work was exhibited at the 2009 National AIA Convention in San Francisco and published in the 2009 Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture [ACSA] and American Institute of Architects [AIA] Architectural Education Awards book.

Wanda Dye joined UT Arlington in 2007. She teaches design studios and a seminar titled “The Everyday City”. She received degrees from Auburn and Columbia University, has taught at Georgia Tech and Mississippi State University, and has worked in the offices of Skidmore Owings and Merrill and Smith-Miller + Hawkinson Architects. Present teaching, writing, and creative practice explore problems of sameness within the everyday landscape, in particular, those associated with public space and prototypical design.
Wanda Dye

Marvin J. Malecha, FAIA, President of AIA and Assistant Professor Wanda Dye, UT Arlington