Skip to content

The University of Texas at ArlingtonThe University of Texas at Arlington

News & Events

UT Arlington Landscape Architecture Program well represented in ASLA awards

April 23, 2013

The Landscape Architecture Program at the University of Texas at Arlington's School of Architecture are well-represented at the 2013 Texas American Society of Landscape Architecture Conference (ASLA). UT Arlington students and faculty received a number of awards and recognition, some of which were unique in the history of the program.

This year, a research project titled "Transit Oriented Development Research" was submitted by Dr. Taner R. Ozdil to the landscape architecture research category and received a Merit Award. This professional recognition is selected by way of blind-review by Arizona ASLA jury members. UT Arlington's Merit Award was the only research award given in 2013, and represents the first UT Arlington research effort to receive such an award from Texas ASLA.

Dr. Ozdil, the research project lead and principal investigator, stated that “the research was the product of a team effort by faculty and students from the School of Architecture and the School of Urban and Public Affairs, as well as the College of Engineering at UT Arlington, which lasted about two years.” The project was funded by the North Texas Council of Government's University Partnership Program. A published report as well as the list of all research team members may be found at

The project team's Adjunct Professor John Fain and UT Arlington Alumni Greg Cuppett also received a Merit Award for their project titled "Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary Donor Gardens" in design-constructed projects category.  A number of landscape architecture students are also received awards at the Annual Texas ASLA Conference at Austin in early May.  

The Texas ASLA Chapter's mission is to lead, to educate, and to participate in the careful stewardship, wise planning, and artful design of our cultural and natural environments.
For more information, visit


Professional Awards:

1. "Transit Oriented Development Research" (UT Arlington) received a Merit Award in professional design research category. Taner R. Ozdil received the award as the principal investigator and the research project manager, and faculty and student research team members as well as NCTCOG were also recognized in the award ceremony for their contributions. 

2. "Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary Donor Gardens" (DFW Group) received Merit Award in professional design-constructed projects category. John Fain (Adjunct Faculty) and Greg Cuppett (Alumni) team received the award. 

Student Awards:

1. "Connecting with North Shores of Grapevine Lake: Environmental Inventory, Analysis, Planning and Vision Study" received Merit Award in Graduate Analysis and Planning Category. Environmental Planning Studio IV Group Project. Recipient Team: S. Modi, K. Elliot, C. Wu, C. Xu, A. Pradhananga, S. Liang, D. Guinn, A. Alexander, G. Hall, A. Huerta, J. Walker, S. Liang, D. Bielaz 

2. "Downtown Street In the Air" received a Merit Award in Graduate Residential Design Category. Independent. Recipient; Xitong Li 

3. "Urban Planning for Quianjiang New District" received a Honor Award in Graduate Design Category. Independent. Recipient; Xitong Li 

Presentations/Panels by Faculty or Alumni:

1. "Low Impact Development (LID) in North Texas: Practice, Research, Education, and Outreach". Ozdil, T. R. (Faculty), and Jaber, F., and Tidwell, J., and Holmes, C. (Alumni)

2. "Tablet Sketching: Freehand Visions for a Digital Age".  Richards, J. (Faculty/Alumni) and Chipman, R. 

3. "From Bulls to Bulrush: Transforming the Seagoville Ranch into North Texas Municipal Water District’s East Fork Raw Water Supply Project". Voight, J. C. (Alumni) 

4. "Community Devastation and Rebirth: A Landscape Architect’s View of the Bastrop Complex Fire". Chipley, S. K. (Alumni)

Transit Oriented Development Research