Skip to content

The University of Texas at ArlingtonThe University of Texas at Arlington

News & Events

Interior Design student wins Dallas Design Ovation Award

May 18, 2016

The Texas Chapter of the American Society of Interior Designers has recognized CAPPA Interior Design student Veronica Sanders as a First Place winner in its 2016 Dallas Design Ovation Awards. Sanders's entry was selected in the student design category, "Student Designer - Real or Imagined". The award was presented at the Awards Ceremony on May 5, 2016, at the Dallas Market Center. The event recognizes achievements in interior design and architecture, as well as special contributions to the Dallas area community. Almost four hundred DFW area interior designers and industry partners attended and entered their work in the prestigious competition.

As part of her award, Sanders received a $250 cash prize and a trophy, and her winning design will be featured in the next edition of Luxe Interiors + Design magazine. Sanders is the current International Interior Design Association (IIDA) UTA Campus Center President.

Design Ovation recognizes the finest achievements in interior design, architecture and special contributions to the Dallas Design Community and honors the winners of this juried design competition encompassing a wide range of categories.

The American Society of Interior Designers (ASID) is a community of people - designers, industry representatives, educators and students - committed to interior design. Through education, knowledge sharing and advocacy, the Society strives to advance the interior design profession and, in the process, to demonstrate and celebrate the power of design to positively impact and change people's lives.

Sanders design

Veronica Sanders's winning entry. Design is a real space of a home in Chicago, Illinois.

Veronica Sanders

IIDA UTA Campus Center President 2015-2017, Veronica Sanders,
Student ASID | NEWH | IIDA

IIDA officers

(left to right) Veronica Sanders, Laura Tricoli, Michelle Martin, Anica Arias, Dana Shihabeddin (all student IIDA members) 

IIDA officers IIDA officers
Dana Shihabeddin, Sergio Cordero, Anica Arias, Veronica Sanders, Michelle Martin, Laura Tricoli