Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Faculty Directory

Dr. Ali AbolmaaliDr. Ali Abolmaali, P.E. | Faculty Profile
Dr. Tseng Huang Endowed Professor and Department Chair
abolmaali@uta.edu | 817-272-5055
Structures and Materials
Ph.D. University of Oklahoma
Office - NH 423

Dr. James C. WilliamsDr. James C. Williams, P.E. | Faculty Profile
Professor, Associate Chair
jimwilliams@uta.edu | 817-272-2894
Transportation Engineering
Ph.D. The University of Texas at Austin
Office - NH 435

Dr. Habib AhmariDr. Habib Ahmari, P.E. Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor of Instruction
habib.ahmari@uta.edu | 817-272-6588
Water Resources Engineering
Ph.D. Queen's University
Office - NH 248C

ashraf.jpgDr. Warda Ashraf | Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor
warda.ashraf@uta.edu | 817-272-5055
Structures and Materials
Ph.D. Purdue University
Office - ERB 329

Dr. Raad AzzawiDr. Raad Azzawi, P.E.| Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor of Instruction 
azzawi@uta.edu  | 817-272-1770
Structures and Materials
Ph.D. Baghdad University
Office - ERB 122

Arpita BhattDr. Arpita Bhatt | Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor of Instruction
arpita.bhatt@uta.edu
Ph.D. The University of Texas at Arlington
Office - ERB 454

Recep BirgulDr. Recep Birgul
Assistant Professor of Instruction
Structures and Materials
recep.birgul@uta.edu
Office - ERB 454

Dr. Shih-Ho ChaoDr. Shih-Ho Chao, P.E. | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor
shchao@uta.edu | 817-272-2550
Structures and Materials
Ph.D. University of Michigan
Office - NH 407

Dr. Hyeok ChoiDr. Hyeok Choi | Faculty Profile | Website
Associate Professor and Area Coordinator
hchoi@uta.edu | 817-272-5116
Environmental Engineering
Ph.D. University of Cincinnati
Office - NH 437

Dr. Ernest CrosbyDr. Ernest Crosby
Graduate Advising
ecrosby@uta.edu | 817-272-3500
Undergraduate Advisor Architectural Engineering
Graduate Advisor Master of Construction Management
Ph.D. University of Tennessee
Office - NH 417

Michael FairchildMichael Fairchild, AIA | Faculty Profile
Associate Professor of Practice
michaelf@uta.edu | 817-272-0650
Undergraduate Advisor, Bachelor of Science in Construction Management
Master of Architecture, University of Texas at Arlington
Office - ERB 123

Dr. Nick FangDr. Nick Z. Fang, P.E. | Faculty Profile | Website
Assistant Professor
nickfang@uta.edu | 817-272-5334
Water Resources Engineering
Ph.D. Rice University
Office - NH 431

Dr. Mostafa GhandehariDr. Mostafa Ghandehari, P.E. | Faculty Profile
Distinguished Senior Lecturer
ghandeha@uta.edu | 817-272-5688
General Civil Engineering
Ph.D. University of California at Davis
Office - ERB 312

Dr. Suyun HamDr. Suyun Ham | Website
Assistant Professor
suyun.ham@uta.edu| 817-272-5217
Structures and Materials
Ph.D. University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
Office - NH 433

Dr. Sahadat HossainDr. Sahadat Hossain, P.E. | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor and Area Coordinator
hossain@uta.edu | 817-272-3577
Geotechnical Engineering, Infrastructure System Engineering and Management
Ph.D. North Carolina State University
Office - NH 404

Dr. Laureano HoyosDr. Laureano Hoyos, P.E. | Faculty Profile
Professor
lhoyos@uta.edu | 817-272-3879
Geotechnical Engineering
Ph.D. Georgia Institute of Technology
Office - NH 441

Dr. Michelle HummelDr. Michelle Hummel | Website
Assistant Professor
michelle.hummel@uta.edu| 817-272-6485
Water Infrastructure
Ph.D. University of California Berkeley
Office - NH 430

Kate HyunDr. Kyung Kate Hyun | Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor
kyung.hyun@uta.edu 817-272-9748
Transportation Engineering, Smart Cities
Ph.D. University of California Irvine
Office - NH 432

Himan Hojat JalaliDr. Himan Hojat Jalali | Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor
himan.jalali@uta.edu | 817-272-6898
Structures and Materials
Ph.D. Sharif University of Technology
Office - ERB 453

Dr. Vistasp M. KarbhariDr. Vistasp M. Karbhari | Website
UTA President
vkarbhari@uta.edu | 817-272-2101
Structures and Materials
Ph.D. University of Delaware

Dr. Sharareh KermanshachiDr. Sharareh Kermanshachi, P.E. | Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor
sharareh.kermanshachi@uta.edu | 817-272-6704
Construction Engineering and Management
Ph.D. Texas A&M University
Office - NH 438

Dr. Maria S. Konsta-GdoutosDr. Maria S. Konsta-Gdoutos
Professor and Associate Director, Center for Advanced Construction Materials
maria.konsta@uta.edu | 817-272-2704
Member of International Academy of Engineering
Structures and Materials
Ph.D. Democritus University of Thrace, Greece
Office - ELB 334

Dr. Andrew KruzicDr. Andrew Kruzic, P.E. | Faculty Profile
Associate Professor
kruzic@uta.edu | 817-272-3822
Environmental Engineering
Ph.D. University of California at Davis
Office - NH 403

Dr. Pengfei (Taylor) LiDr. Pengfei (Taylor) Li
pengfei.li@uta.edu
Transportation Engineering
Ph.D. Virginia Tech
Office - ERB 352

Dr. Stephen P. MattinglyDr. Stephen P. Mattingly | Faculty Profile
Professorand Area Coordinator
mattingly@uta.edu | 817-272-2859
Transportation Engineering, Infrastructure System Engineering and Management
Ph.D. University of California at Irvine
Office - NH 434

Dr. Mohammad NajafiDr. Mohammad Najafi, P.E. | Faculty Profile
Professor-in-Practice and Coordinator of Construction Engineering and Management Master's Program
najafi@uta.edu | 817-272-0507
Pipelines Trenchless Technology: New Installations Asset Mgmt.
Ph.D. Louisiana Tech University
Office - NH 428

Dr. Srinivas PrabakarDr. Srinivas Prabakar | Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor of Instruction
prabakar@uta.edu | 817-272-7590
Environmental Engineering
Ph.D. The University of Texas at Arlington
Office - NH 401

Dr. Stefan A. RomanoschiDr. Stefan A. Romanoschi, P.E. | Faculty Profile
Professor and Area Coordinator
romanoschi@uta.edu | 817-272-0340
Infrastructure System Engineering and Management
Ph.D. Louisana State University
Office - NH 408

Dr. Kyeong Rok (Chris) RyuDr. Kyeong Rok (Chris) Ryu
Assistant Professor
kyeongrok.ryu@uta.edu | 817-272-9378
Ph.D. Texas A&M University
Office - ERB 346

Dr. Samantha SabatinoDr. Samantha Sabatino
Assistant Professor
samantha.sabatino@uta.edu| 817-272-9747
Structures and Materials
Ph.D. Lehigh University
Office - NH 402

Dr. Melanie L. SattlerDr. Melanie L. Sattler, P.E. | Faculty Profile
Professor
Syed Qasim Endowed Professor
msattler@uta.edu | 817-272-5410
Environmental Engineering
Ph.D. The University of Texas at Austin
Office - NH 406

Dr. Dong-Jun (DJ) SeoDr. Dong-Jun (DJ) Seo | Faculty Profile | Hydrology and Water Resources Laboratory
Robert S. Gooch Professor of Water Resources Engineering, Professor and Area Coordinator,Urban Water Institute
djseo@uta.edu | 817-272-5063
Water Resources Engineering
Ph.D. Utah State University
Office - NH 248B

Dr. Surendra P. Shah Dr. Surendra P. Shah
Member of National Academy of Engineering
Director, Center for Advanced Construction Materials
surendra.shah@uta.edu | 817-272-5055
Presidential Distinguished Professor of Civil Engineering
Structures and Materials
Ph.D. Cornell University
Office - ELB 335

Dr. Mohsen ShahandashtiDr. Mohsen Shahandashti P.E. | Faculty Profile | Website
Assistant Professor
mohsen@uta.edu | 817-272-0440
Construction Engineering and Management, Infrastructure System Engineering and Management
Ph.D. Georgia Institute of Technology
Office - NH 436

Bijan ShapoorianProfessor Bijan Shapoorian
Coordinator and Advisor
bijan.shapoorian@uta.edu | 817-272-9750
Bachelor of Construction Management
Master of Architecture; University of Oklahoma
Master of City Planning; University of Oklahoma
Office - NH 426 

Dr. Kathleen SmitsDr. Kathleen Smits
Associate Professor
kathleen.smits@uta.edu | 817-272-6486
Water Research Engineering
Website: www.uta.edu/faculty/smitsk
Ph.D.Colorado School of Mines
Office - NH 405

Dr. TsungDr. Nilo Tsung P.E.
Assistant Professor of Instruction
nilo.tsung@uta.edu | 817-272-6899
Construction Engineering and Management
Ph.D. The University of Colorado at Boulder
Office - ERB 123

Dr. TavakoliDr. Razieh Tavakoli
Assistant Professor of Instruction
razieh.tavakoli@mavs.uta.edu
Ph.D. The University of Texas at Arlington
Office - ERB 123

Dr. Nur YazdaniDr. Nur Yazdani, P.E. | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor
yazdani@uta.edu | 817-272-0676
Structures and Materials
Ph.D. University of Maryland at College Park
Office - NH 439

Dr. Xinbao YuDr. Xinbao Yu, P.E. | Faculty Profile | Website
Associate Professor
xinbao@uta.edu | 817-272-1243
Geotechnical Engineering
Ph.D. Case Western Reserve University
Office - NH 429

Dr. Michael ZaretskyMichael Zaretsky
Associate Professor
michael.zaretsky@uta.edu | 817-272-6487
Director of Architectural Engineering Program
Masters of Architecture
Office - NH 440

Dr. Yu ZhangDr. Yu Zhang | Faculty Profile
Associate Professor
yu.zhang@uta.edu
Hydrology and Water Resources
Ph.D. Princeton University
Office - ERB 427

Civil Engineering Research Faculty

Dr. Mike McNerneyDr. Mike McNerney
michael.mcnerney@uta.edu | 817-272-5055
Pavement Insfrastructure
Ph.D. University of Texas at Austin
Office - NH 340

Dr. Seongjin NohDr. Seongjin Noh | Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor of Research
seongjin.noh@uta.edu | 817-272-6813
Water Resources Engineering
Ph.D. Kyoto University
Office - NH 248A

Civil Engineering Emeritus Faculty

Dr. Wendell H. NeddermanDr. Wendell H. Nedderman (1921-2019)
Structural Engineering
UTA President, 1972-1992
Founding Dean of Engineering, 1959-69

Dr. Sia ArdekaniDr. Siamak Ardekani
Transportation Engineering
Professor, 1997-2018
Department Chair, 1999-2005

Dr. Noel EverardDr. Noel Everard
Deceased

Dr. John HaynesDr. John Haynes
Deceased

Dr. Tseng HuangDr. Tseng Huang
Deceased

Dr. John H. MatthysDr. John H. Matthys
Director, Construction Research Center and Professor Emeritus
matthys@uta.edu | 817-272-3701
Structural Engineering
Ph.D. The University of Texas at Austin
Office - ERB 345

Dr. Clinton ParkerDr. Clinton Parker
Deceased

Dr. Syed QasimDr. Syed Qasim
qasim@uta.edu