Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Faculty Directory

Dr. Ali AbolmaaliDr. Ali Abolmaali, P.E. | Faculty Profile
Dr. Tseng Huang Endowed Professor and Department Chair
abolmaali@uta.edu | 817-272-5055
Structural and Applied Mechanics
Ph.D. University of Oklahoma
Office - NH 423

Dr. Habib AhmariDr. Habib Ahmari, P.E. Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor of Instruction
habib.ahmari@uta.edu | 817-272-6588
Water Resources Engineering
Ph.D. Queen's University
Office - NH 248C

Dr. Raad AzzawiDr. Raad Azzawi, P.E.| Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor of Instruction 
azzawi@uta.edu  | 817-272-1770
Structural Engineering and Applied Mechanics
Ph.D. Baghdad University
Office - ERB 122

Dr. Shih-Ho ChaoDr. Shih-Ho Chao, P.E. | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor
shchao@uta.edu | 817-272-2550
Structural Engineering and Applied Mechanics
Ph.D. University of Michigan
Office - NH 407

Dr. Hyeok ChoiDr. Hyeok Choi | Faculty Profile | Website
Associate Professor and Area Coordinator
hchoi@uta.edu | 817-272-5116
Environmental Engineering
Ph.D. University of Cincinnati
Office - NH 437

Dr. Ernest CrosbyDr. Ernest Crosby
Graduate Advising
ecrosby@uta.edu | 817-272-3500
Undergraduate Advisor Architectural Engineering
Graduate Advisor Master of Construction Management
Ph.D. University of Tennessee
Office - NH 417

Michael FairchildMichael Fairchild, AIA | Faculty Profile
Associate Professor of Practice
michaelf@uta.edu | 817-272-0650
Undergraduate Advisor, Bachelor of Science in Construction Management
P.h.D. Master of Architecture, University of Texas at Arlington
Office - ERB 123

Dr. Nick FangDr. Nick Z. Fang, P.E. | Faculty Profile | Website
Assistant Professor
nickfang@uta.edu | 817-272-5334
Water Resources Engineering
Ph.D. Rice University
Office - NH 431

Dr. Mostafa GhandehariDr. Mostafa Ghandehari, P.E. | Faculty Profile
Distinguished Senior Lecturer
ghandeha@uta.edu | 817-272-5688
General Civil Engineering
Ph.D. University of California at Davis
Office - ERB 312

Dr. Suyun HamDr. Suyun Ham | Website
Assistant Professor
suyun.ham@uta.edu| 817-272-5217
Structural Engineering and Applied Mechanics
Ph.D. University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign
Office - NH 433

Dr. Mammon HammadDr. Mamoon Hammad
Senior Lecturer
mamoon.hammad@uta.edu  | 817-272-9751
Construction Engineering and Management
Ph.D. Concordia University
Office - ERB 122

Dr. Sahadat HossainDr. Sahadat Hossain, P.E. | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor and Area Coordinator
hossain@uta.edu | 817-272-3577
Geotechnical Engineering, Infrastructure System Engineering and Management
Ph.D. North Carolina State University
Office - NH 404

Dr. Laureano HoyosDr. Laureano Hoyos, P.E. | Faculty Profile
Professor
lhoyos@uta.edu | 817-272-3879
Geotechnical Engineering
Ph.D. Georgia Institute of Technology
Office - NH 441

Dr. Michelle HummelDr. Michelle Hummel | Website
Assistant Professor
michelle.hummel@uta.edu| 817-272-6485
Water Infrastructure
Ph.D. University of California Berkeley
Office - NH 430

Kate HyunDr. Kyung Kate Hyun | Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor
kyung.hyun@uta.edu 817-272-9748
Transportation Engineering, Smart Cities
Ph.D. University of California Irvine
Office - NH 432

Himan Hojat JalaliDr. Himan Hojat Jalali | Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor of Instruction
himan.jalali@uta.edu | 817-272-6898
Structural Engineering
Ph.D. Sharif University of Technology
Office - ERB 312

Dr. Vistasp M. KarbhariDr. Vistasp M. Karbhari | Website
President of The University of Texas at Arlington
vkarbhari@uta.edu | 817-272-2101
Structural Engineering and Applied Mechanics
Ph.D. University of Delaware

Dr. Sharareh KermanshachiDr. Sharareh Kermanshachi, P.E. | Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor
sharareh.kermanshachi@uta.edu | 817-272-6704
Construction Engineering and Management
Ph.D. Texas A&M University
Office - NH 438

Dr. Andrew KruzicDr. Andrew Kruzic, P.E. | Faculty Profile
Associate Professor
kruzic@uta.edu | 817-272-3822
Environmental Engineering
Ph.D. University of California at Davis
Office - NH 403

Dr. John H. MatthysDr. John H. Matthys
Director, Construction Research Center and Professor Emeritus
matthys@uta.edu | 817-272-3701
Structural Engineering
Ph.D. The University of Texas at Austin
Office - ERB 345

Dr. Stephen P. MattinglyDr. Stephen P. Mattingly | Faculty Profile
Associate Professorand Area Coordinator
mattingly@uta.edu | 817-272-2859
Transportation Engineering, Infrastructure System Engineering and Management
Ph.D. University of California at Irvine
Office - NH 434

Dr. Mohammad NajafiDr. Mohammad Najafi, P.E. | Faculty Profile
Professor-in-Practice
najafi@uta.edu | 817-272-0507
Construction Engineering and Management
Ph.D. Louisana Tech University
Office - NH 428

Dr. Srinivas PrabakarDr. Srinivas Prabakar | Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor of Instruction
prabakar@uta.edu | 817-272-7590
Environmental Engineering
Ph.D. The University of Texas at Arlington
Office - NH 401

Dr. Anand J. PuppalaDr. Anand J. Puppala, P.E. | Faculty Profile
Distinguished Teaching Professor and Associate Dean for Research for the College of Engineering
anand@uta.edu | 817-272-5821
Geotechnical Engineering
Ph.D. Louisana State University
Office - NH 622

Dr. Stefan A. RomanoschiDr. Stefan A. Romanoschi, P.E. | Faculty Profile
Professor and Area Coordinator
romanoschi@uta.edu | 817-272-0340
Infrastructure System Engineering and Management
Ph.D. Louisana State University
Office - NH 408

Dr. Kyeong Rok (Chris) RyuDr. Kyeong Rok (Chris) Ryu
Assistant Professor of Instruction
kyeongrok.ryu@uta.edu
Ph.D. Texas A&M University
Office - ERB 346

Dr. Samantha SabatinoDr. Samantha Sabatino
Assistant Professor
samantha.sabatino@uta.edu | 817-272-9747
Structural Engineering
Ph.D. Lehigh University
Office - NH 402

Dr. Melanie L. SattlerDr. Melanie L. Sattler, P.E. | Faculty Profile
Professor
Syed Qasim Endowed Professor
msattler@uta.edu | 817-272-5410
Environmental Engineering
Ph.D. The University of Texas at Austin
Office - NH 406

Dr. Dong-Jun (DJ) SeoDr. Dong-Jun (DJ) Seo | Faculty Profile | Hydrology and Water Resources Laboratory
Robert S. Gooch Professor of Water Resources Engineering, Professor and Area Coordinator,Urban Water Institute
djseo@uta.edu | 817-272-5063
Water Resources Engineering
Ph.D. Utah State University
Office - NH 248B

Dr. Mohsen ShahandashtiDr. Mohsen Shahandashti P.E. | Faculty Profile | Website
Assistant Professor
mohsen@uta.edu | 817-272-0440
Construction Engineering and Management, Infrastructure System Engineering and Management
Ph.D. Georgia Institute of Technology
Office - NH 436

Bijan ShapoorianProfessor Bijan Shapoorian
Coordinator and Advisor
bijan.shapoorian@uta.edu | 817-272-9750
Bachelor of Construction Management
Office - NH 426 

Dr. Kathleen SmitsDr. Kathleen Smits
Associate Professor
kathleen.smits@uta.edu | 817-272-6486
Water Research Engineering
Website: www.uta.edu/faculty/smitsk
Ph.D.Colorado School of Mines
Office - NH 405

Dr. TsungDr. Nilo Tsung P.E.
Assistant Professor of Instruction
nilo.tsung@uta.edu | 817-272-6899
Construction Engineering and Management
Ph.D. The University of Colorado at Boulder
Office - ERB 123

Dr. James C. WilliamsDr. James C. Williams, P.E. | Faculty Profile
Professor
jimwilliams@uta.edu | 817-272-2894
Transportation Engineering
Ph.D. The University of Texas at Austin
Office - NH 435

Dr. Nur YazdaniDr. Nur Yazdani, P.E. | Faculty Profile | Website
Professor
yazdani@uta.edu | 817-272-0676
Structural Engineering
Ph.D. University of Maryland at College Park
Office - NH 439

Dr. Xinbao YuDr. Xinbao Yu, P.E. | Faculty Profile | Website
Associate Professor
xinbao@uta.edu | 817-272-1243
Geotechnical Engineering
Ph.D. Case Western Reserve University
Office - NH 429

Dr. Michael ZaretskyMichael Zaretsky
Associate Professor
michael.zaretsky@uta.edu | 817-272-6487
Director of Architectural Engineering Program
Masters of Architecture
Office - NH 440

Dr. Yu ZhangDr. Yu Zhang | Faculty Profile
Associate Professor
yu.zhang@uta.edu
Hydrology and Water Resources
Ph.D. Princeton University
Office - ERB 427

Civil Engineering Research Faculty

Dr. Mike McNerneyDr. Mike McNerney
michael.mcnerney@uta.edu | 817-272-5055
Pavement Insfrastructure
Ph.D. University of Texas at Austin
Office - NH 340

Dr. Seongjin NohDr. Seongjin Noh | Faculty Profile
Assistant Professor of Research
seongjin.noh@uta.edu  | 817-272-6813
Water Resources Engineering
Ph.D. Kyoto University
Office - NH 248A

Civil Engineering Emeritus Faculty

Dr. Wendell H. NeddermanDr. Wendell H. Nedderman
Structural Engineering
UTA President, 1972-1992
Founding Dean of Engineering, 1959-69

Dr. Syed QasimDr. Syed Qasim
Environmental Engineering
Professor 1978-2007

CE Adjunct Faculty

Dr. Georg Agoki

Mohammed Al AsadiMohammed Al Asadi
mohammed.alasadi@uta.edu
Office - NH 240

Md Jobair Bin Alam

Aritra BanerjeeDr. Aritra Banerjee
Adjunct Professor
aritra@uta.edu

Arpita BhattDr. Arpita Bhatt | Faculty Profile
Adjunct Professor
arpita.bhatt@uta.edu
Ph.D. The University of Texas at Arlington

Ghassan KhankarliDr. Ghassan Khankarli, P.E. | Faculty Profile
Adjunct Professor
khankarl@uta.edu |
General Civil Engineering
Ph.D. The University of Texas at Dallas
Office - ERB 122

Roozbeh Kiamanesh

Payal KotechaDr. Payal Kotecha
payal.kotecha@uta.edu |
General Civil Engineering
Ph.D. The University of Texas at Arlington
Office - NH 240

Mahnaz MostafazdehDr. Mahnaz Mostafazadeh
mahnaz.mostafazadeh@uta.edu
Office - NH 240

Md Jobair Bin Alam

Alireza Sayah

Sirwan ShahooeiDr. Sirwan Shahooei| Faculty Profile
Adjunct Professor
Sirwan Shahooei@uta.edu
Ph.D. Univeristy of Texas at Arlington