Skip to content

College of Education News

College of Education Faculty recognized for excellence

The faculty of the College of Education at UTA continue to distinguish themselves through the Spring 2019 semester with a number of awards and recognitions.

Dr. Ambra Green and Dr. John Romig were both awarded Research Enhancement Program grants in the amount of $10,000 each by UTA’s Office of Research Administration. Both awards were funded through August 2020.

Dr. Green received the award for her proposed research, “Evaluation of Visual Performance Feedback and Self-Evaluation to Promote Effective and Equitable Teacher Classroom Management Practices”. Dr. Romig’s research will examine “Improving Writing Instruction for Students with Disabilities through Date-Based Decision-Making”.

REP grants are given by the university specifically for the support of research and professional creative activity. Applicants are encouraged to submit proposals presenting viable prospects for continuation through outside funding after an initial support period by REP. As a condition of acceptance of an REP award, the recipient is required to submit a grant proposal to an external funding agency within one year after the REP funding period ends.

"These awards recognize the high quality and impactful work in which both Drs. Green and Romig are engaged," noted Teresa Taber Doughty, dean of UTA's College of Education. "Both are exceptional faculty who conduct important research that inform classroom practices for students with disabilities. I look forward to reading their findings that result from these REP grants."

Dr. Green and Dr. Romig are both Assistant Professors in the College of Education’s new Special Education program. They will be recognized as REP grant recipients at the Faculty Awards Ceremony during the meeting of the Faculty and Associates on April 23, 2019, at 4:00 p.m. in the Rio Grande Ballroom of the University Center.

Dr. Romig recognized with research award

Dr. John Romig was also recognized by the Council for Exceptional Children’s Division for Research with a 2019 Student Research Award. Recipients were honored in February at the DR Business Meeting and Reception during the CEC Convention and Expo in Indianapolis.

“Dr. Romig is engaged in impactful research in the special education field,” said Dr. Teresa Taber Doughty, Dean of UTA’s College of Education. “This prestigious award is a recognition of the quality and impact of the work he does. We are thrilled that he is a member of our faculty and helping to shape the next generation of special education professionals!” (READ MORE)

Dr. Amaro-Jiménez nominated for statewide award

Dr. Carla Amaro-Jiménez was selected as a nominee for the Minnie Stevens Piper Professor Award.

The Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation is a non-profit, charitable corporation that focuses on postsecondary education in Texas. Each year, the foundation selects ten Piper Professors from across the state in recognition of their superior teaching at the college level.

Colleges and schools in Texas may each submit up to two candidates for the award, the winners of which will be announced on May 1, 2019. The recognition includes an award of $5,000 for each of the ten recipients.

Dr. Semingson honored by UT System and UTA President's Office

Dr. Peggy Semingson was selected to the Academy of Distinguished Teachers by the University of Texas System, and also awarded the 2019 President's Award for Transformative Online Education at UTA.

The UT System Academy of Distinguished Teachers was established to recognize outstanding educators across The University of Texas System academic institutions who have demonstrated leadership in education and who are committed to improving learning across the UT System.

The President's Award for Transformative Online Education recognizes an individual at UTA who is an outstanding instructor in the area of web-based distance education. Dr. Semingson previously won the award in 2010. (READ MORE AT UTA SHORTHORN)

Dr. Tobolowsky selected for Rotary Club honors

Dr. Barbara Tobolowsky was selected as the College of Education’s Arlington Sunrise Rotary UTA Professor of the Year. The club’s criteria for selected faculty is that they represent the concept of service above self. Past winners from the College of Education include Dr. Carla Amaro-Jimenez, Dr. Mary Curtis, and Dr. Mary Lynn Crow.

In nominating Dr. Tobolowsky, Dean Teresa Doughty wrote that in addition to her considerable academic accomplishment, Dr. Tobolowsky is considered “a very good citizen of the College and University.”

“Her considerable work directly contributes to the College and University’s ability to engage in continuous improvement and have a positive impact on the students and community in which she serves,” wrote Dr. Doughty. “I firmly believe that ‘service above self’ describes Dr. Tobolowsky perfectly and that she is highly deserving of this recognition.”