Skip to content
UTA Menu

Connect with UTA

College of Nursing and Health Innovation | The University of Texas at ArlingtonCollege of Nursing and Health Innovation | The University of Texas at Arlington


Touching Lives. Transforming Health Care.

Jonas Center - Philanthropy Advancing Scholarship, Leadership and Innovative Practice

In 2016 our Nursing PhD Program made history as we were awarded four Jonas Scholarships, marking UTA's first year as a participant in the Jonas Center. Four of the fourteen Texas scholarship winners for 2016/2017 are from UTA. Only six universities in Texas, part of 133 Jonas Center universities nationally and less than 10% of the 1,400 4-year colleges ranked by U.S. News & World Report, have been awarded this high distinction.

As part of their scholarship experience, all Jonas Scholar attend the Jonas Nurse Scholar Conference, a three-day event in Washington, DC, designed to convene the current Jonas Scholars for networking, mentoring and educational opportunities with prominent nurse educators, executives and policy experts in the field.

UTA College of Nursing Jonas Scholars, 2016-2017

  • Ruth Bargainer, MSN, RN, CNE
  • Megan Harper, MSN, RN, CCRN
  • Cecilia Lijauco, MSN, NEA-BC, CPHQ
  • Elesha Roberts, MSN, RN

About the Jonas Center

In 2006, the Barbara and Donald Jonas Family Fund established the Jonas Center for Nursing Excellence, a groundbreaking program that deploys philanthropy to advance the nursing profession through grants and programs designed to develop outstanding faculty. advance scholarship, and spark innovative practice.

Find out more at the Jonas Scholars Webpage.