Greetings from UT Arlington, FIRST Tech Challenge partner in North Texas and home of the Regional Championship!

What is FIRST Tech Challenge?

FTC is designed for those who want to compete head to head, using a sports model. Teams of up to 10 students are responsible for designing, building, and programming their robots to compete in an alliance format against other teams. The robot kit is reusable from year-to-year and is programmed using a variety of languages. Teams, including coaches, mentors and volunteers, are required to develop strategy and build robots based on sound engineering principles. Awards are given for the competition as for well as for community outreach, design, and other real-world accomplishments.

FIRST Tech Challenge Robotics Events in North Texas for 2015-2016 Season

Info for Visitors: All FIRST Tech Challenge events are free and open to the public. Please come join us to see this exciting academic sport! Most events open around 8am for the teams who are competing and robot games usually start between 10am and 11am in the morning. Game matches continue into the afternoon and times depend on the number of teams competing in an event. Event addresses are given below.

North Texas FTC Qualifying Tournaments for 2015-2016

  • Saturday, January 9, 2016: Central Texas College - Killeen FTC Qualifying Tournament
    • Debra Prescott, Debra.Prescott@ctcd.edu, Mark Winans, mwinans@ctcd.edu
    • Anderson Campus Center, Central Texas College in Killeen
    • 6200 West Central Texas Expressway, Killeen, TX 76549
  • Saturday, January 16: University of Texas at Tyler FTC Qualifying Tournament
    • Tambelynn Wallace, twallace@uttyler.edu , Dr. Kay Pleasant, kpleasant@uttyler.edu
    • Ornelas Activity Center, University of Texas at Tyler
    • 3402 Old Omen Rd, Tyler, TX, 75707
  • Saturday, January 16: Dallas – Wylie East FTC Qualifying Tournament
    • Patrick Michaud, pmichaud@pobox.com
    • Wylie East High School, 3000 Wylie East Drive, Wylie, TX 75098
  • Saturday, January 30: Fort Worth – Nolan FTC Qualifying Tournament
    • Dr. Robert Scheer, rscheer@nchstx.org
    • Nolan Catholic High School, 4501 Bridge Street, Fort Worth, TX 76103
  • Saturday, February, 6: Arlington – Summit FTC Qualifying Tournament
    • Stephen Miller, smiller@uplifteducation; Friedrich Elliot, felliott@dallasisd.org
    • Summit International Preparatory, 1100 Roosevelt St, Arlington, TX 76011

North Texas FTC Emerald League for 2015-2016

  • Saturday, January 23th: Emerald League Championship
    • Maria Suarez, suarezm@greenhill.org
    • Greenhill School, 4141 Spring Valley Rd., Addison, TX 75001

FTC Southwest Regional Championship for North Texas, 2015-2016

  • Saturday, February 20, 2015 - University of Texas at Arlington Maverick Activity Center
    • Dr. Carter Tiernan, tiernan@uta.edu , Ariel Pankratz, pankratz@uta.edu
    • UT Arlington Maverick Activity Center, 500 W. Nedderman Dr., Arlington, TX 76019

Get ready for this exciting event hosted by the College of Engineering at The University of Texas at Arlington! Visit the FIRST Tech Challenge web site for information on this year's game.