Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Crowdsourcing Wireless Channels with Phones and Drones

Friday, February 16, 2018, 11:00 AM
Nedderman Hall 112

Add to Calendar

Joseph Camp, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Electrical Engineering, SMU

ABSTRACT: While the propagation in wireless channels has been extensively studied, it is a topic that requires ongoing and costly investment by network operators due to emerging antenna and beamforming technologies, frequencies, and standards across cellular and WiFi as well as other environmental changes. Traditionally, drive testing has been used but there are initiatives such as the Minimization of Drive Tests in 3GPP which drastically reduce or obviate the need for manpower and expensive equipment. To this end, in this talk, we discuss our work that uses crowdsourcing in mobile phones and unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs) to understand the wireless propagation characteristics across various geographical features.

BIOGRAPHY: Joseph Camp is an Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and Engineering at Southern Methodist University in Dallas, Texas. He joined the SMU faculty in 2009 after receiving his Ph.D. in Electrical and Computer Engineering from Rice University. He received an M.S. at Rice and B.S. with honors from the University of Texas at Austin, both in ECE. His research interests are in the areas of wireless networking, crowdsourcing, and data analytics, specifically focused on the deployment, measurement, and analysis of large-scale wireless networks and development of embedded protocols for network hardware. His research team has performed over 200 million in-field wireless measurements around the world via Android deployment and local characterization via campus buses, vehicles, and buildings. He was the Chief Network Architect for the Technology For All (TFA) Network, a mesh deployment in Houston, TX which serves 4,000 users in an under-resourced community. He received the Ralph Budd Award for the best engineering thesis at Rice University (2010), the National Science Foundation CAREER Award (2012), and the Golden Mustang Teaching Award (2014).

Return to Upcoming Events