Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

News Archive 2001 - 2010

Three Engineering Professors Selected for UTA Academy of Distinguished Scholars

April 13, 2004

Mechanical Engineering Professor Abdolhossein Haji-Sheikh, Computer Science and Engineering Professor Diane Cook and Electrical Engineering Professor Frank L. Lewis have been selected as charter members in The University of Texas at Arlington’s Academy of Distinguished Scholars. The honor recognizes their outstanding scholarly achievements and contributions to the University.

Inductees into the Academy exemplify the University’s commitment to quality research and creative activity. The Academy strives to promote the importance of research and create a sense of community among scholars who serve as role models. Inductees will advise the institution on research policies and practices.

Dr. Haji-Sheikh has taught thermal science since he arrived at UTA in 1966. He is world renown in the fields of heat transfer, composites and inverse engineering. He was one of the key participants in the NASA/UTA Center for Hypersonic Research; one of only three such centers in the U.S. Dr. Haji-Sheikh is a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers and a Senior Member of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics. In 1993, he received the ASME Journal of Heat Transfer’s Exemplary Service Award.

Dr. Haji-Sheikh has written more than 100 technical papers and several books and book chapters and has served as an editor on several publications. He is regularly invited to make presentations at conferences and is a consultant for many commercial organizations and governmental agencies. He also developed a solver program to aid in the instruction of conduction principles.

Dr. Cook came to UTA in 1992 and has taught courses in artificial intelligence, neural networks, data mining, robotics and others. She received several teaching and research awards from UTA, the College and the Computer Science and Engineering Department. In 1998, a team she advised won the American Academy of Artificial Intelligence’s Life on Mars robotic competition. Dr.

Cook has had more than 150 of her technical papers published in journals and conference proceedings, and she has written one book and 11 chapters of books. She also serves as the editor or reviewer of for numerous publications.

Dr. Cook has helped to secure more than $8 million in research grants for “smart home” technologies, pervasively secure infrastructures and a variety of intelligent agent projects. She is internationally known for her work, a frequent invited speaker at conferences and regularly interview by the media. Dr. Cook is a Senior Member of the Institute on Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE), a member of the American Association for Artificial Intelligence and sits on the Board of Governors for the IEEE’s Systems, Man and Cybernetics Society.

Dr. Frank L. Lewis holds the Moncrief-O’Donnell Endowed Chair in Electrical Engineering. He is internationally recognized for his work in neural networks, fuzzy logic and discrete event systems. Dr. Lewis has received three U.S. patents and is the author or co-author of more than 100 journal papers, 175 refereed published conference papers, five books and 13 book chapters. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, is a Distinguished Lecturer and on the Board of Governors of the IEEE’s Control Systems Society and a frequent keynote speaker at conferences.

Dr. Lewis conducts much of his research at the Automation & Robotics Research Institute (ARRI) and is noted for using this facility in technology transfer to businesses activities. As a result of his work, ARRI received the Small Business Administration’s Tibbets Award in 1996.

In addition to his research, Dr. Lewis is an excellent teacher and mentor. Six of his Ph.D. students have won national or international competitive awards for their dissertations. On average, his Ph.D. students publish three journal papers and four refereed conference papers before leaving UTA.

Drs. Haji-Sheikh, Cook and Lewis will be joined by seven other faculty members in the inaugural class of the Academy in an April 13 induction ceremony. Each is a tenured faculty member who has won either the University’s Distinguished Record of Research or Creative Activity Award or the Outstanding Research Achievement or Creative Accomplishment Award.