Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

News Archive 2001 - 2010

EE’s Fung Selected for UTA’s Academy of Distinguished Scholars

March 28, 2005

Adrian K. Fung, Jenkins Garrett Professor of Electrical Engineering and director of the Wave Scattering Research Center, will be inducted into The University of Texas at Arlington’s Academy of Distinguished Scholars during an April 7 ceremony. Dr. Fung is the fourth faculty member in the College of Engineering to achieve this honor in the Academy’s two-year history.

Inductees into the Academy exemplify the University’s commitment to quality research and creative activity. The Academy strives to promote the importance of research and create a sense of community among scholars who serve as role models. Inductees will advise the institution on research policies and practices.

Dr. Fung received his Ph.D. from the University of Kansas in 1965, where he taught until coming to UTA in 1984. A noted authority on radar and microwave scattering effects, he has written several books that are considered classics in the microwave remote sensing area. He is regularly called on to speak at scientific convocations around the world and is a frequent contributor to and editor of numerous books and professional journals. He has also chaired or been a member of national and international conferences, symposiums and research committees.

Over his 20 years at UTA, he secured almost $5 million in research grants from such diverse organizations as NASA, the Naval Weapons Center, the Department of Commerce, the European Space Agency and the Texas Air Control Board. Dr. Fung is a Life Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and a member of several professional organizations. He has been recognized numerous times by Who’s Who in America, Who’s Who in the World, the International Scholars Directory and many others.

In addition to this honor, Dr. Fung has also received the College of Engineering’s Halliburton Excellence in Research award in 1987, the UTA Distinguished Research Award and the IEEE Geosciences and Remote Sensing Society’s Distinguished Achievement Award in 1989, and several others from national and international organizations during his career.