Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

News Archive 2001 - 2010

Professors Kamangar, Das and Holder Awarded Top Honors

April 29, 2005

Three Computer Science and Engineering professors – Farhad Kamangar, Sajal Das and Larry Holder – received top university awards for teaching and research excellence. The awards were presented by UTA President James Spaniolo during the 2005 President's Convocation for Academic Excellence in April.

Dr. Kamangar was inducted into the UTA Academy of Distinguished Teachers for his longtime, distinguished record of teaching excellence. Students consistently rank Dr. Kamangar as a top professor for his outstanding teaching ability and dedication to helping students succeed academically and professionally. In 1987, graduating seniors named him as the person who contributed the most to their educational success, and in 1997 he was awarded the Robert Q. Lee award for excellence in teaching by the College of Engineering. Dr. Kamangar has an impressive scholarly record, with his papers appearing in prestigious journals and conferences. A highly successful researcher in embedded systems and other areas, he has obtained more than $6 million in research funding. The Texas Health and Human Services Commission awarded him in 2003 a $2.2 million grant to investigate intelligent software agents, wireless communication devices and communication infrastructure to serve people with disabilities.

Dr. Das was awarded the University Award for Distinguished Record of Research, which recognizes sustained research excellence. Dr. Das is recognized internationally for his important contributions to wireless networking and mobile computing research. He holds five U.S. patents and is the founder and director of the Center for Research in Wireless Mobility and Networking at UTA. His research has been funded by more than $6.5 million in awards. He is currently the lead investigator on a $1.6 million grant from the National Science Foundation to develop a security framework to help protect America from terrorist attacks. He is a frequently invited speaker at international conferences and symposia and has published 350 research papers in leading journals and conference proceedings, edited numerous books and book chapters, and co-authored two books, including "Smart Environments: Technology, Protocols and Applications," written with CSE Professor Diane Cook and published this year. He is an interdisciplinary researcher who has won best paper awards, including one for ACM SIGMOBILE at the ACM International Conference on Mobile Computing and Networking. Dr. Das serves on editorial boards of leading scholarly journals and is editor-in-chief of Pervasive and Mobile Computing Journal. He holds numerous other distinctions, including receiving the 2003 Excellence in Research Award from the College of Engineering.

Dr. Holder was awarded the UTA Award for Outstanding Research Achievement, which recognizes important research achievement in the past three years. Dr. Holder is recognized internationally as a leading researcher in artificial intelligence, with emphasis on machine learning and data mining. His outstanding, unprecedented scholarly activities during the past three years include the receipt of seven research grants that total more than $3 million. He is the lead investigator on five of the research projects. Earlier this year he was awarded a $250,000 grant from the National Science Foundation to develop advanced security detection methods to monitor, prevent and recover from natural or inflicted disasters. Dr. Holder's scholarly activities in the last three years also include authoring seven journal articles, 12 conference papers, two book chapters, and contracting to edit two books. Dr. Holder's lifetime professional record is also exemplary, with numerous scholarly publications to his credit and $6 million in research funding as the principal or co-investigator. Dr. Holder was named to the UTA Academy of Distinguished Teachers in 2002, received the Chancellor's Council Award for Excellence in Teaching in 2000, and from the College of Engineering received the 1999 Teaching Excellence Award and the 2000 Outstanding Young Faculty Award.