Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

News Archive 2001 - 2010

Formula SAE Team Wins Again at SCCA Solo II Nationals

September 28, 2005

The University of Texas at Arlington’s Formula SAE racing team earned several awards, including first place in the FSAE class, while competing in the Sports Car Club of America’s Solo II National Competition in Kansas earlier this month. University teams in competition included Auburn University, the University of Texas at Arlington, the University of Missouri – Rolla, the University of Kansas, the University of Maryland, and the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology.

Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering graduate student Erick Kohler took first place in the FSAE with an overpowering four second lead over the second place finisher. Kohler’s time also earned him the SCCA’s Bob Woods Cup for the second year in a row. The Cup, awarded to the top finisher in the FSAE class, is named for UTA Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering Professor Bob Woods, who was instrumental in developing the Formula SAE series.

Dr. Woods finished third in the competition, also driving the 2005 car. Ken Hassler, who received a bachelor’s degree in Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering in May, drove the 1995 car, now owned by John Burford, to a sixth-place finish. Burford, a 1998 Mechanical Engineering graduate, also drove the 1995 car and finished 13th.

Formula SAE was started 25 years ago by the Society of Automotive Engineers as a way to encourage mechanical engineering students to test their technical and driving skills. Regulations demand that student teams design, build and drive open-wheeled race cars in a series of challenges. Teams score points for their oral presentations and for technical inspections, design evaluations, cost analysis and track performance of their vehicles. The cars are tested for skid-pad handling, acceleration and an autocross event involving hairpin and sweeping curves, chicanes, slaloms and straight-aways.