Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

News Archive 2001 - 2010

Aerospace Student Receives Zonta’s Amelia Earhart Fellowship

April 2, 2008

University of Texas at Arlington aerospace engineering graduate student Jolanta Matusewicz has been awarded an Amelia Earhart Fellowship from Zonta International, an international organization of executives and professionals working together to advance the status of women through service and advocacy. The $10,000 Fellowships are granted annually to women pursuing doctoral degrees in aerospace-related sciences and engineering.

The Fellowships were established in honor of Amelia Earhart, a famed pilot and Zonta club member, to female students who demonstrate a superior academic record and are conducting a well-defined, aerospace-related research program at a recognized university. Ms. Matusewicz’s research is in astrodynamics, particularly in tracking the position and velocity of the debris objects in space. These may be launch vehicle upper stages, mission-related objects such as bolts, disabled satellites, and even paint flakes. All have the potential of damaging or destroying vehicles such as the International Space Station or injuring or killing a space-walking astronaut.

Ms. Matusewicz, a native of Ontario, Canada, received bachelor and master’s degrees in aerospace engineering at UT Arlington before continuing her studies toward a doctorate. She presented her master’s thesis, “Uncertainty Characterization of Orbital Debris,” and a related paper at the 2007 AAS/AIAA Astrodynamics Specialist Conference.

Ms. Matusewicz has maintained a graduate GPA of 3.92 and is a member of Sigma Gamma Tau, the aerospace engineering national honor society. Following her expected graduation in December 2009, she hopes to continue her research at a post-doctoral level with NASA, the Canadian Space Agency or the European Space Agency, which are interested in improving future space exploration and increasing the understanding of our solar system.

This is the third year in a row that a UT Arlington student has received this award. Jennifer Goss received the award in 2006 and 2007.