Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

News Archive 2001 - 2010

Engineering Professor Slated to Receive Society Award

May 28, 2008

The International Neural Network Society (INNS) has notified University of Texas at Arlington Electrical Engineering Professor Frank L. Lewis that he will receive the Society’s Gabor Award for 2009. The Gabor Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions in the field of neural networks.

Artificial neural networks mimic the processes of the brain through computer programming and feedback mechanisms. Forms of this artificial intelligence can be seen in applications such as speech recognition, image analysis and adaptive control, the latter being among Professor Lewis’ main interests, which also includes wireless sensor networks, nonlinear systems, robotics, and micro-electro-mechanical systems (MEMS). He holds the Moncrief-O’Donnell Endowed Chair at the College of Engineering’s Automation & Robotics Research Institute.

Dr. Lewis is named on five U.S. patents and is the author of 12 books, including Optimal Control, Control of Robot Manipulators, Neural Network Control and High-Level Feedback Control with Neural Networks.

The INNS Gabor Award is one of many that Professor Lewis has garnered. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the International Federation of Automatic Control and the U.K. Institute of Measurement & Control. Dr. Lewis became a charter member of The University of Texas at Arlington’s Academy of Distinguished Scholars in April 2004. He has received the American Society of Engineering Education’s F. E. Terman Award, three Sigma Xi research awards and a Fulbright research award.

Dr. Lewis was appointed to the National Academy of Engineering’s Committee on the Space Station in 1995 and to the IEEE Control Systems Society Board of Governors in 1996. In 1998, Dr. Lewis was selected as an IEEE Control Systems Society Distinguished Lecturer. He is also a Founding Member of the Board of Governors of the Mediterranean Control Association.