Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

News Archive 2001 - 2010

Armanios Selected as Chairman for Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

December 9, 2008

Erian Armanios, professor of aerospace engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology and director of the Georgia Space Grant Consortium, has been selected to lead the Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Department at The University of Texas at Arlington’s College of Engineering. He will begin his duties in mid-January of 2009.

The appointment was announced by Dr. Bill Carroll, dean of engineering at UT Arlington, who stated, “We are fortunate to have attracted such an outstanding educator and scholar to this important position. Dr. Armanios is excited about this opportunity and is looking forward to continuing the growth and established reputation of the department.”

Dr. Armanios holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees in aeronautical engineering from the University of Cairo and a doctorate in aerospace engineering from Georgia Tech. He is a Fellow of the American Society for Composites, an Associate Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics and a member of the American Society for Testing and Materials and the American Helicopter Society.

Working in the area of structural analysis, design and damage tolerance of advanced composites, Dr. Armanios has received five patents for his discoveries and has been a consultant to several aerospace industries. He is also a frequent invited speaker at conferences in the U.S. and abroad, past editor-in-chief for the ASTM’s Journal of Composites Technology and Research, and Editor of Key Engineering Materials, published by Trans Tech Publications

Dr. Armanios has received recognition and awards from several professional organizations. He also received awards for his leadership and teaching achievements, including the Georgia Tech Faculty Leadership Award in 1996, the W. Roane Beard Outstanding Teacher Award in 1999 and the University System of Georgia Regents’ Teaching Excellence Faculty Award in 2000.