Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

News Archive 2001 - 2010

Professor, Students Honored at University Excellence Symposium

April 1, 2009

Dr. Venkat Devarajan of the Electrical Engineering Department and several students in the College of Engineering at The University of Texas at Arlington received awards at the Annual Celebration of Excellence by Students (ACES) symposium, a university-wide, day-long event showcasing the best examples of student research and creativity.

Professor Devarajan received the first Graduate Dean’s Excellence in Doctoral Student Mentoring Award. An award selection committee drawn from the leadership of the Graduate Assembly, the Office of Graduate Studies and representatives of the Graduate Student Senate reviewed his nominating materials and written philosophy of mentoring. Dr. Devarajan was the selection committee’s unanimous selection for the award.

Dean of Graduate Studies Dr. Philip Cohen made the presentation, citing Dr. Devarajan as “an outstanding mentor who provides individualized guidance in extraordinary depth and breadth. He creates relationships with his students based on mutual respect and collegiality that begins during his students’ first years of study and extends onward into their professional lives. And he creates a contagious environment that spreads his joy and excitement in the work of learning and discovery to those he mentors.”

Engineering students took many top honors at the symposium. The awards and students were:

• President's Award - Ashwin Nair (Bioengineering) for his project “A Novel Porous Scaffold for Bioactive Biomolecule Delivery”

• Provost's Award - Saket Karajgikar (Mechanical Engineering) for “Development of Numerical Model for Non-uniformly Powered Die to Improve Both Device Clock and Thermal Performance”

• Honorable Mention - Michael Byron Webb (Aerospace Engineering) for “A Reduced-order Model for Investigating the Aeroelastic Stability of a Morphable Wing Structure”

• Graduate Dean's Poster Award - Abhijit Ramachandran (Bioengineering) for “Characterization of DNA Translocation in Nanopores.”