Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

News Archive 2001 - 2010

Billo Recognized for Contributions to Auto ID Industry

March 18, 2009

Dr. Richard Billo, associate dean for research in the College of Engineering at The University of Texas at Arlington, has been selected to become a member of the AIDC 100, a group of individuals who have been recognized by their peers as having significantly contributed to the growth and advancement of the Automatic Identification and Data Collection industry.

For almost 20 years, Dr. Billo has conducted research in many facets of AIDC, including wireless technologies, two-dimensional symbologies (bar and matrix codes) and direct part marking. He has published more than 60 refereed papers and been awarded more than $50 million in funded research grants and gifts. He was instrumental in developing courses in AIDC at both Oregon State University and the University of Pittsburgh, where engineering students received education in the design, implementation and usage of AIDC systems.

For the AIDC industry, Dr. Billo specialized in product development and product performance testing for the various standards bodies, federal agencies and AIDC manufacturers and user companies. Dr. Billo, in collaboration with Dr. Marlin Mickle at the University of Pittsburgh, performed the first comprehensive testing aiding the selection of American national standards for passive RFID tag systems. He also participated in the prototype development of the biometric identification system currently used in the Department of Homeland Security's US-VISIT program, enabling the U.S. government to establish and verify identities.

Dr. Billo has conducted research for the governmental agencies, foundations and businesses. He currently serves on the editorial board for the International Journal of Radio Frequency Identification Technology and Applications. In addition to his recent selection into membership of the AIDC 100, Dr. Billo has been recognized by his peers through past awards, including an Intel Faculty Fellowship and the University of Pittsburgh’s Outstanding Faculty Award and Whiteford Faculty Fellowship.