Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

News Archive 2001 - 2010

Agonafer Honored by American Society of Mechanical Engineers

July 23, 2009

University of Texas at Arlington Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering Professor Dereje Agonafer received the 2009 American Society of Mechanical Engineers’ InterPACK Achievement Award. The award honors individuals who have demonstrated excellence and received international recognition in the area of research and development related to electronic packaging as well as service to the technical community at large.

Electronic packaging refers to the enclosures and protective features – the cases, seals, coatings, and etc. – housing electronic components such as printed circuits, with considerations for heat, shock, moisture and manufacturability.

InterPACK is an international forum for the exchange of state-of-the art knowledge in research, development, manufacturing and applications on the packaging and integration of electronic and photonic systems, microelectromechanical systems (MEMS), and nanoelectromechanical systems (NEMS). It is the flagship technical meeting of the ASME Electronic and Photonic Packaging Division, with the participation of the Japan Society of Mechanical Engineers, the IEEE-Components, Packaging and Manufacturing Technology Society, and International Electronics Manufacturing Initiative, is an industry-led consortium of approximately 70 electronics manufacturers, suppliers and related organizations.

In addition to receiving the Achievement Award at the conference, Dr. Agonafer will also present a keynote address, chair two presentation sessions and one panel, conduct two tutorial sessions, and present nine papers. Six of his students will also present papers at the conference.

Dr. Agonafer received his Ph.D. from Howard University. After 15 years with IBM, he joined UT Arlington as Professor and Director of the Electronics, MEMS and Nanoelectronics Systems Packaging Center. Since joining the University, he has successfully advised 63 graduate students. He is a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers International and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He is currently the editor in chief of the ASME Press Book Series on Electronic Packaging, and is an associate editor of the Journal of Electronic Packaging.

Dr. Agonafer has also received several other awards for his scientific contributions. These include the ASME K-16 Committee Clock Award, the ASME Electronic and Photonic Packaging Division Award for “Outstanding Contributions to the Area of the Application of the Science and Engineering of Heat Transfer to Electronic and Photonic Packaging” and the 2008 THERMI Award for his work addressing thermal issues affecting the performance of semiconductor devices, optoelectronics, MEMS and/or related systems.