Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

News Archive 2001 - 2010

Engineering Students Score Several Victories in Research Showcase

April 1, 2010

Every year, many College of Engineering students participate in the Annual Celebration of Excellence by Students (ACES) symposium, a university-wide, day-long event showcasing students’ research and creativity. Undergraduate and graduate students work with faculty mentors in their disciplines to write and submit abstracts for the competition. The approved abstracts are then turned into oral presentations or posters to be presented at the symposium.

College of Engineering students received awards in the following categories:

Graduate Morning Oral Presentation
President’s Award – Sanchali Deb (Electrical Engineering)
Title: Wireless Micro Gastro-stimulator for the Treatment of Gastroparesis
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Jung Chih Chiao

Provost’s Award – Giacomo Ghidini (Computer Engineering)
Title: A Novel Framework for Data Dissemination in Wireless Sensor Networks
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Sajal K. Das

Honorable Mention – Praveen Gualala (Biomedical Engineering)
Title: Monitoring Tissue Response to Hyperbaric Oxygen Intervention Using 1H MRI
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Vikram D. Kodibagkar

Honorable Mention – Aniket Wadajkar (Biomedical Engineering)
Title: Theranostic Nanoparticles for Cancer Diagnosis and Treatment
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Kytai Nguyen

Graduate Afternoon Oral Presentation
Graduate Dean’s Award – Aydin Farajidavar (Biomedical Engineering)
Title: Treating Neural Disorders: A Smart Brain-Machine-Brain Interface (BMBI)
Faculty Mentors: Dr. J. C. Chiao, Dr. Yuan B. Peng

Honorable Mention – Jonathan Armstrong (Electrical Engineering)
Title: Human Steadiness/Tremor Measurement Using General Systems Performance Theory
Faculty Mentor: Dr. George Kondraske

Honorable Mention - Sairam Geethanath (Biomedical Engineering)
Title: Rapid Metabolic Imaging of Brain Cancer
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Vikram D. Kodibagkar

Undergraduate Afternoon Oral Presentation
Graduate Dean’s Award - Nathan Dunn (Aerospace Engineering)
Title: Development and Testing of a Continuous Detonation Wave Engine
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Frank K. Lu

Honorable Mention - Keduse Agonafer (Mechanical Engineering)
Title: Solar Shroud Design Using Computational Fluid Dynamics
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Dereje Agonafer

Graduate Poster Presentation
Provost’s Poster Award - Ashwin Nair (Biomedical Engineering)
Title: Biomaterial Implant Mediated Autologous Stem Cell Recruitment and Differentiation
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Liping Tang

Graduate Dean’s Poster Award - Richa Karanjekar (Civil Engineering)
Title: An Improved Model to Predict Gas Generation from Bioreactor Landfills
Faculty Mentors: Dr. Melanie Sattler, Dr. Sahadat Hossain

Undergraduate Poster Presentation
Graduate Dean’s Poster Award - Ezgihan Baydar (Aerospace Engineering)
Title: Analysis of Frequency Spectrum of a Two-layer Photonic Crystal
Faculty Mentor: Dr. Tuncay Aktosun