Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

News Archive 2001 - 2010

Outstanding Individuals Honored at Engineering Awards Banquet

March 19, 2003

Frank Cappuccio, vice president & general manager of Lockheed Martin’s Advanced Development Programs, was inducted into the College’s Hall of Achievement. Cappuccio is a 30-year veteran of the aviation industry, working for such companies as Sikorsky, Rockwell International and Hamilton Standard in addition to Lockheed Martin. Cappuccio was the leader of Lockheed Martin’s efforts to win the Joint Strike Fighter (JSF) contract, worth an estimated $200 billion.

Dr. Jonathan Bredow, electrical engineering, received the Excellence in Teaching Award. Engineering students, who select the winner, noted Bredow’s “superior teaching and supervising skills; attention to developing and enhancing undergraduate laboratories; provides the right balance of theoretical analysis and implementation knowledge,” and was always there to educate me without lecturing, to guide me without pointing, to mentor me with sincerity, and voluntarily provide encouragement and help when I needed it the most.”

Two individuals were selected to receive the Excellence in Research Award. Dr. Sajal Das, computer science & engineering, established himself as an excellent, effective and consistent researcher and educator with national and international recognition and prominence. One supporter said, “…few researchers can match [him] in terms of such high quality research profile, academic leadership and number and quality of peer-reviewed articles.” Dr. Seung Mun You, mechanical & aerospace engineering, has developed applications that are widely recognized as major technical advances in his field. As the ultimate example of his high standing outside of UTA, You was recently elected a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

Two individuals were also selected to receive the Outstanding Young Faculty Award. Dr. Laureano Hoyos, civil & environmental engineering, was cited as an efficient and effective teacher who has secured more than one million dollars in research funds and is a gregarious spokesperson in outreach efforts to minority students. Dr. Soontorn Oraintara, electrical engineering, developed two new graduate courses and revised one undergraduate course, has been granted one of his four US patent applications, and exhibits a high level of professionalism in his research, teaching and peripheral activities.

The Lockheed Martin Robert Q. Lee Award for Excellence in Teaching went to Dr. Venkat Devarajan, electrical engineering. Supporters stated that Devarajan “has engaged in teaching his students about ethics and standards, business practices, industry attitudes, teamwork, and independent thinking – things that are not normally taught in the classroom environment,” and “has the rare ability to present abstract concepts in a way that makes them accessible to the student.”

The Fay Van Dam Outstanding Staff Award is presented to a member of the support staff whose everyday performance and dedication to the college demonstrate a constant desire to go above what is normally required and accepted. Ginny Bowers, civil & environmental engineering, received this award for being exceptionally pleasant, knowledgeable, efficient, perfectionist, compassionate and dedicated volunteer, trustworthy, professional, dependable, exceptional, friendly, considerate, and always having a smile.