Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

News Archive 2001 - 2010

Wei-Jen Lee Selected to Direct Energy Systems Research Center

August 14, 2003

Wei-Jen Lee, professor of electrical engineering at The University of Texas at Arlington, has been named director of the College of Engineering’s Energy Systems Research Center. The appointment becomes effective September 1.

Dr. Lee earned his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering at UTA in 1985 and stayed to conduct post- doctoral studies until joining the faculty in 1986. His research interests are power system phenomena under steady state, stressed and emergency conditions and microcomputer-based equipment for power system monitoring, measurement, protection and control.

Dr. Lee is well known for his research; he received the 2002 Best Paper Award from the Institute of Electronic and Electrical Engineers’ Industrial & Commercial Power System Department. As director of the center, he will oversee the work of three faculty, 2 research fellows and 16 graduate students. Lee’s immediate plans are to establish an advisory board for the center and develop new relationships with the domestic utility companies and research organizations.

The Energy Systems Research Center is one of the world’s leading research and training facilities for power generation, transmission and distribution. The Institute of Electronic and Electrical Engineers rates it in the top 10 power engineering stations in the nation. Governments and utility companies send their power engineers to the ESRC for training, and researchers in the center are regularly called on for consultation services.

Dr. Lee recently returned from Saudi Arabia, where he was asked to set up an interdisciplinary studies and continuing education program. Faculty in the center have collaborated on projects with TXU Electric, the Electric Reliability Council of Texas Independent System Operator, Consolidated Edison of New York, CRIEPI-Japan, EPRI-China, Saudi Electricity Company, Taiwan Power Company, National Energy Policy Office of Thailand, and Federal Power Commission of Mexico.