Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

News Archive 2001 - 2010

UTA Cars/Drivers Sweep Class in SCCA Solo II Nationals

September 12, 2003

The Sports Car Club of America instituted a new class for its national competitions in Kansas this week, and drivers from the University of Texas at Arlington captured 1st, 2nd and 3rd places.

Designated FSAE, the class is based on the Formula SAE rules for student designed and built cars seen in U.S., United Kingdom and Australasia collegiate competitions. UTA’s racing team has entered earlier SCCA competitions, but in the A-Modified class.

Mechanical Engineering student Ken Hassler took first place, driving UTA’s 2003-model car. Mechanical Engineering graduate student Erick Kohler was second, also driving the 2003 car. Mechanical Engineering Professor Bob Woods, the team’s advisor, took third place, driving the 2001 car.

Also finishing high was Mechanical Engineering student Jon Huddleston, who finished sixth while driving the 2001 car. John Burford of Detroit drove another UTA car, the 1995 model. Burford is a former UTA racing team member and purchased the car after graduating in 1998. Local driver Jane Willis finished first in the ladies competition, driving the 2003 car and recording the fifth best overall time for the courses.

Teams from Texas A&M, the University of Missouri at Rolla, South Dakota School of Mines, the University of Akron and the University of Washington also competed in the FSAE class. UTA’s cars and drivers demonstrated the impressive performance these cars are capable of achieving in an autocross. There were 1,100 vehicles entered in the Solo II Nationals; UTA had the fourth quickest car in the entire competition.

Dr. Woods was recognized by the SCCA for his efforts to create a FSAE category. Woods is a pioneer of Formula SAE competitions, having established many of the current design rules. UTA racing teams under Woods’ supervision captured eight national Formula SAE titles, plus ones in Great Britain and Australia.