Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Team of Students Wins 2011 Undergraduate Design Competition

Tuesday, September 6, 2011

The American Society for Materials recently announced that a team of UT Arlington undergraduates was the winner of the 2011 Undergraduate Design Competition. The prize was the only one awarded this year, and went to the following undergraduates: Letia Blanco, Christopher Alberts, Andrew Patin, Kyle Godfrey and Chris Grace.

The team won $2,000, plus $500 travel assistance and additional $500 to the department for support of future design teams for their project: Controlled Release Drug Delivery System, which integrates mechanical design, materials selection and application, real time control, and thermal analysis in an iterative design process to develop a functioning device for controlled drug delivery. The Undergraduate Design Competition award will be recognized during MS&T '11 in Columbus, Ohio at the ASM Leadership Awards Luncheon on Monday, October 17.

Dr. Pranesh Aswath and Dr. Panos Shiakolas were the faculty advisors for the senior design team. The abstract of the winning project can be found on the ASM Foundation website,