Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Eight Students Receive Alumni Association Scholarship Awards

Wednesday, August 29, 2012

Eight engineering students received scholarships to make the pursuit of their education easier at the annual Alumni Association Scholarship Dinner on August 27. Combined, the students were awarded nearly $13,000 to apply to their studies.

The students and their scholarships were:

Igor Fraiberg Endowed Scholarship in Engineering ($3,000), established by the estate of Igor Fraiberg in 2000, provides support for sophomore, junior or senior students who demonstrate potential for success in the field of engineering. Fraiberg specialized in mechanical and metallurgical engineering and is regarded for his contributions to the oil industry.

Ya-Yu Hew (Aerospace Engineering)

Narendra De (Aerospace Engineering)

Arpan Dahal (Aerospace Engineering)

Weiss Family Scholarship ($600), established in 2006 by 1973 industrial engineering graduate and current Engineering Board of Advisors member Keith Weiss to honor his father and grandfather for giving him the motivation to persevere through the engineering curriculum. The purpose of this fund is to provide financial assistance to junior or senior engineering students who demonstrate the potential for success in their field of study.

Jacob Fisher (Computer Engineering)

John Berry Rogers Scholarship ($500), established in 1997 by the founding president of the Student Alumni Association, then Student Foundation. This fund is designed to provide financial support to students whose leadership supports the Alumni Association’s goals of making a difference for The University of Texas at Arlington.

Sandeep Shah (Biomedical Engineering)

Student Alumni Association Sophomore Scholarship ($1,000), established in 1991 for currently enrolled sophomore students. The annual Oozeball mud volleyball tournament generates funds for this scholarship.

Rasika Jadhav (Software Engineering)

Alumni Association  Scholars Program ($1,000), Established in 1999, this scholarship was created to provide continuing students of junior or senior standing with financial assistance while recognizing their academic achievements in pursuit of aggressive career goals.

Prashanth Ravi (Mechanical Engineering)

Alumni Legacy Scholarship ($500), established in 2010, this award celebrates family traditions of attending The University of Texas at Arlington and is awarded to students who are directly related to a UTA alumnus.

Abhisekh Manandhar (Aerospace Engineering)