Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Engineering Faculty Receive Awards at Faculty and Associates Meeting

Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Civil Engineering Professor Anand Puppala received the Distinguished Record of Research or Creative Activity Award, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering/Materials Science Engineering Professor Pranesh Aswath received the Graduate Dean's Excellence in Doctoral Student Mentoring Award, and Civil Engineering Professor Sia Ardekani was recognized with a President's Award for Excellence in Teaching (tenured) at the Spring Faculty and Associates Meeting April 22. They were among seven members of the Engineering faculty who were honored with University awards for research and teaching, and several others who were recognized for their efforts.

2013 Faculty Award recipients

“I am proud of each of our engineering faculty for their efforts in research and teaching, and to have so many recognized for their work is a wonderful statement about the quality of faculty we have in the College of Engineering,” said Dean J.P. Bardet.

Puppala, who came to UTA in 1996, was recognized for “achieving a distinguished record of research and scholarship or creative activity over an extended period of time.” The award is accompanied by a Research Enhancement Program grant. Ardekani, who came to UTA in 1989, was recognized for "teaching that is inspiring, effective and innovative." Aswath, who came to UTA in 2009, was recognized for "excellence in promoting the professional, personal and academic development of doctoral students" at UTA.

Also recognized at the meeting were:

Qilian Liang, professor in electrical engineering, who was recognized with the Outstanding Research Achievement or Creative Accomplishment award. This award recognizes faculty members for particularly noteworthy research or creative accomplishment during the past three years.

Liping Tang, associate professor in bioengineering was recognized with an Outstanding Academic Advisor Award (graduate).

Manfred Huber, associate professor in the computer science and engineering department, was inducted into the Academy of Distinguished Teachers, and Hanli Liu was inducted into the Academy of Distinguished Scholars.

K.J. (Jamie) Rogers, associate professor in industrial and manufacturing systems engineering, is UTA’s nomination for the Texas Piper Professorship for outstanding scholarly and academic achievement, and exemplary service to the University and the community.

Bill Carroll (professor of Computer Science and Engineering and former dean of engineering), Lynn Peterson (senior associate dean of engineering), and Rogers were faculty mentors in 2012-13.

Kytai Nguyen, associate professor of bioengineering, was a McNair Scholars Program Faculty Mentor for undergraduate students during 2012-13.

Yi Hong, assistant professor of bioengineering, and Xinbao Yu, assistant professor of civil engineering, were awarded Research Enhancement Program Grants for 2013-14.

Kytai Nguyen, associate professor of bioengineering, and Matthew Wright, associate professor of computer science and engineering, were granted faculty development leaves for 2013-14.