Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Huber, Liu Named to UTA Academies

Wednesday, July 10, 2013

Manfred Huber, an associate professor in the Computer Science and Engineering Department, was inducted into the Academy of Distinguished Teachers, and Hanli Liu, a professor in the Bioengineering Department, was inducted into the Academy of Distinguished Scholars during the spring Faculty and Associates meeting.

Inaugurated in 1996, the Academy of Distinguished Teachers is comprised of tenured faculty at UT Arlington who have been selectedManfred Huber for membership for their outstanding teaching, personal commitment to students and the learning process, and the ability to inspire and motivate students. The Academy's mission is to reflect, encourage, and help sustain pedagogical excellence at UT Arlington by serving as role models for their colleagues, fostering research on university teaching and learning, and advising the institution on teaching policies and practices.

On the recommendation of the President of The University and with subsequent approval by the UT System Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, each member of the Academy of Distinguished Teachers has been granted the title "Distinguished Teaching Professor." This title, along with membership in the Academy, endures for the faculty member’s tenure at UT Arlington.

Since 2004, members of the Academy of Distinguished Scholars at UTA have exemplified the university's commitment to quality research and creative activity. The Academy of Distinguished Scholars admits up to four new members each year. To be eligible for admission, the new members must have outstanding and distinguished records of research or creative activities.

Hanli Liu

The goals of the ADS are to advocate the importance of research and creative activity, to create an appropriate reward structure forscholars, and to promote a sense of community among scholars across all academic disciplines. ADS members serve as role models in fostering research and creative activity, and in advising the university on research policies and practices.


Engineering Faculty in the Academy of Distinguished Teachers 
Bill Corley (IMSE)
Lawrence Holder (CSE – no longer a member of the UTA faculty)
Manfred Huber (CSE)
Farhad Kamangar (CSE)
Frank Lewis (EE)
Lynn Peterson (CSE)
Anand Puppala (CE)
Jamie Rogers (IMSE)
G.T. Stevens (retired)
Robert Woods (MAE)

Engineering Faculty in the Academy of Distinguished Scholars 
Diane Cook (ret., CSE)
Sajal Das (CSE)
Adrian Fung (ret., EE)
Abolhosse Haji-Sheikh (MAE)
Wei-Jen Lee (EE)
Hanli Liu (BE)
Frank Lewis (EE)
Robert Magnusson (EE)
K.R. Rao (EE)