Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Jain Named Young Engineer of the Year by ASME

Friday, November 15, 2013

UTA's Ankur Jain

Ankur Jain, an assistant professor of mechanical engineering, is the recipient of the 2013 ASME EPPD Young Engineer Award.  The award is given for outstanding contributions to the field of electronic and photonic packaging. Established in 2001, it recognizes a young engineer (within 10 years since the last degree earned) with significant technical achievements in the area of electronic and photonic packaging demonstrated through papers, patents, or product development.

The award recognizes the work of Dr. Jain and his research group in the understanding of thermal transport in microelectronic devices and systems. Their research, published in a series of journal papers, helps with understanding the nature of heat flow in three-dimensional integrated circuits (3D ICs), and directly impacts future semiconductor roadmap and technology development.

"This is a superb personal achievement that MAE and UTA are honored to share," said Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Department Chair Erian Armanios. "We offer our sincere congratulations to Dr. Jain for this award."

Jain has been a member of the UTA faculty since 2011. Prior to joining the University, he worked in industry from 2006-2011. He will receive his award at the ASME International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition in San Diego.