Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Dereje Agonafer to Receive 2014 iTherm Achievement Award

Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Dereje AgonaferDereje Agonafer is the recipient of the 2014 iTherm Achievement Award, awarded by IEEE at the Intersociety Conference on Thermal and Thermomechanical Phenomena in Electronic Systems.

Sponsored by the IEEE’s CPMT Society, ITherm 2014 is an international conference for scientific and engineering exploration of thermal, thermomechanical and emerging technology issues associated with electronic devices, packages and systems. The ITherm Achievement Award, first instituted in 1996, is presented biennially in recognition of significant contributions made in thermal and thermomechanical management of electronics. 

"Dr. Agonafer joins prestigious company of past awardees who are Fellows of various organizations and members of the National Academy of Engineering. This award is an exceptional recognition for him and for the UTA College of Engineering," said Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Chair Erian Armanios.

Agonafer will receive his award at a luncheon May 28, followed by his keynote address, "Thermal and Mechanical Challenges in Microelectronics: From Device to Data-Center-Room Level."

Past winners include:

2014 – Dereje Agonafer

2012 – Yogendra Joshi

2010 – Bahgat Sammakia

2008 – Roger R. Schmidt

2006 – Robert J. Moffat

2004 – M. Michael Yovanovich

2002 – Aurthur E. Bergles

2000 – Wataru Nakayama

1998 – Avram Bar-Cohen

1996 – Richard C. Chu