Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Faculty Honored for Research, Teaching, and Mentoring

Thursday, May 8, 2014

Electrical Engineering professor J.-C. Chiao received the Outstanding Research Achievement Award at the Spring Faculty and Associates Meeting April 29. He was one of six members of the Engineering faculty who were honored with University awards for research and teaching, and several others who were recognized for their mentoring efforts.

“I am proud to see our faculty recognized for their excellent accomplishments. It is a testament to their hard work and devotion in the laboratory and in the classroom,” said Dean Khosrow Behbehani.

Chiao, who came to UTA in 2002, is the Janet and Mike Greene Endowed Professor and Jenkins Garrett Endowed Professor. He was recognized for “particularly noteworthy research during the past three years.”

Two professors were inducted to UTA’s Academy of Distinguished Scholars. Anand Puppala, professor of civil engineering and associate dean for research, and Liping Tang, professor and interim chair of bioengineering, each were honored. The Academy of Distinguished Scholars “fosters and advocates for the importance of research and creative activity, promotes a sense of community among scholars, and advises on research practices and policies.”

Sia Ardekani, professor of civil engineering, was inducted to the Academy of Distinguished Teachers. The award recognizes tenured faculty for “a sustained record of outstanding teaching, personal commitment to students and the learning process, and the ability to motivate and inspire students.”

Also recognized at the meeting:

Lynn Peterson (senior associate dean of engineering) and Matthew Wright (associate professor of computer science and engineering) were faculty mentors in 2012-13.

Frank Lu, professor of aerospace engineering, Kytai Nguyen (associate professor of bioengineering), and Tang were McNair Scholars Program Faculty Mentors for undergraduate students during 2013-14.

Yuze (Alice) Sun, assistant professor of electrical engineering, was awarded a Research Enhancement Program Grant for 2014-15.

Laureano Hoyos, associate professor of civil engineering, Haiying Huang (associate professor of aerospace engineering), Chengkai Li, associate professor of computer science and engineering, and Weidong Zhou, professor of electrical engineering, were granted faculty development leaves for 2014-15.