Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Doctoral Student Mirza Wins ASME EPPD Award

Thursday, November 13, 2014

Fahad Mirza, a mechanical engineering doctoral student advised by Dereje Agonafer, is the 2014 recipient of ASME’s Electronics and Photonics Packaging Division (EPPD) “Student Member of the Year Award.” The award is given to a student member who has excelled in research and has shown promise Fahad Mirzafor impactful contributions to the field of electronic and photonic packaging.

“This recognition affirms MAE and UTA’s standing within the EPPD community,” said Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Department Chair Erian Armanios. 

Mirza has published more than 20 papers and is scheduled to graduate in December 2014. He will receive his award at the ASME 2014 International Mechanical Engineering Congress & Exposition (IMECE) in Montreal on November 18.

“We are encouraged to note the enthusiastic participation of young people like you, at this early stage in your career, in the activities of EPPD. It shows a bright future for EPPD and ASME,” wrote Koneru Ramakrishna, Chair of ASME’s EPPD Executive Committee.