Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Students Finish Third in Spirit of Innovation Competition

Tuesday, December 16, 2014

US India Chamber of Commerce's Spirit of Innovation AwardThe students, computer science and engineering doctoral student Luan Viet Nguyen and electrical engineering master’s students Amol Vengurlekar and Ruoshi Zhang, will share a $1,000 prize for their Reconfigurable Continuous-Culture Bioreactor entry. Computer science and engineering graduate Eric Nelson also contributed to the project.

“The students worked hard on this project, and finishing third among 29 submissions is evidence of that. They also worked on developing this concept to help solve a problem with collaborators at UTSW,” said Taylor Johnson, the team’s faculty advisor.

The competition, in its second year, was created to encourage innovation and entrepreneurship. Twenty-nine teams submitted projects to the competition, and eight finalists were chosen to make a 10-minute presentation to the judges.

Shanti Thiyagaraja from the University of North Texas won the competition, and Edward Allegra, Jack Reynolds, and Michel Quimbra from Southern Methodist University took second place.