Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

MAE's Shah is 2018 ASME EPPD Student Engineer of the Year

Monday, October 1, 2018

Jimil ShahJimil Shah, a recent mechanical engineering doctoral graduate, is the recipient of the 2018 ASME Electronic and Photonic Packaging Division Student Engineer of The Year Award. He received the award at ASME’s InterPACK Conference August 30 in San Francisco.

The award recognizes a student who has excelled in research and has shown promise to be a strong contributor in the field of electronic and photonic packaging. Only one student is selected every year for this award nationally.

“This recognition affirms MAE and UTA’s standing within the EPPD community,” said Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Department Chair Erian Armanios

Shah received his PhD in August 2018 and is a Post-Doctoral Research Associate in Dereje Agonafer’s research group. As a graduate student, Shah published 11 journal and conference papers with seven additional journal papers under review. His research focuses on gaining an in-depth understanding of immersion cooling strategies for data centers and the impact of particulate and gaseous contamination on IT equipment where air side economizers are implemented. His projects are funded by the National Science Foundation I/UCRC in Energy Efficient Systems, of which UTA is a member.

His awards include the I-Engage Mentoring Program Scholarship and the Best Student Abstract Award at IMAPS 2015.

“Congratulations on behalf of the entire division! We look forward to your continued progress and accomplishments,” wrote Kaustubh Nagarkar (GE Corporate), General Chair of the Conference.

Shah is the second of Agonafer's students to win the EPPD Student Engineer of the Year Award. Fahad Mirza won in 2014.