Skip to content

Office of Graduate Studies at UT Arlington

UT Arlington
Graduate Studies at UT Arlington

Faculty and Staff

Excellence in Doctoral Student Mentoring Award

2018/2019 Excellence in Doctoral Student Mentoring Award Winner

Dr. Daniel W. Armstrong

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Click here for Dr. Armstrong's mentoring philosophy


The Excellence in Doctoral Student Mentoring Award is intended for faculty members who have a strong record of excellence in mentoring graduate students. Effective mentoring is a crucial determinant of the academic and professional success of a graduate student and this award is intended to provide the UT Arlington community the opportunity to publicly acknowledge and reward outstanding mentors. The selected individual will receive $3000 and will be recognized at the Spring Meeting of the University Faculty and Associates. The recipient’s essay on his/her mentoring philosophy will be featured on the OGS website.  Winners from STEM disciplines will be asked to serve on the next STEM faculty selection committee while winners selected for the Liberal Arts and Professional disciplines award will help select the next awardee in these disciplines. 


To qualify for the award, nominees must currently be a full-time, tenure-track or tenured UT Arlington faculty member and have chaired the committee of at least three (3) doctoral recipients in the last eight (8) years. Past recipients may be nominated eight (8) years after receiving the award, but preference will be given to faculty members who have not previously received this award.

Nominations are solicited at the end of the fall semester. 

Link to Past Recipients of the Doctoral Mentoring Award