Skip to content

The Honors College — The University of Texas at Arlington

The Honors College — The University of Texas at Arlington

Honors College Scholarships

Luther Wayne Odom Memorial Scholarship

The Luther Wayne Odom Memorial Endowment was established by Mr. Andrew B. Sommerman in memory of Dr. Luther Wayne Odom, a former faculty member of the Department of Political Science at The University of Texas at Arlington. This scholarship is awarded on the basis of proven academic achievement, extracurricular activities, and financial need.

Eligibility Requirements: Full-time Honors Political Science majors and/or any current active members of Pi Sigma Alpha.

Additional Exceptions and Limitations: You will not be considered for this scholarship if you are awarded the Charles R. Knerr or the Nancy C. Sommerman Scholarship.

Award Amount: $500 per years.

Number of Awards: 1 student.

Other Information: Activities of the applicant such as internships, volunteer activities, awards, other indications of academic excellence, a 3.2 GPA, and full-time status.

Additional required materials:

  1. One recommendation letter
  2. A one-page essay discussing your academic, personal, and professional goals and why you should be considered for the scholarship