Skip to main content

Retirees Club


Dear UTA Retirees:

We have cancelled all activities of the UTA Retirees Club until January 2021! 

After our March Meeting 2020 and with much thought and consideration for our members in this Coronavirus pandemic, we decided to cancel our April 14th and May 12th meetings and our June 6th Retiree Dinner.  Human Resources also cancelled the June 14 Retiree Benefits Updates Meeting.  I am sure that all of you have received your letter from Human Resources regarding your benefits and that there are no changes for this year. If you do have questions, please call (817) 272-5214.

We again considered the seriousness of the effects of Coronavirus on each of our families and a decision was made to cancel all events until January 2021.  At that time, we will revisit planning.  We are excited about future events and look forward to seeing all of you next year. 

Our Retirees Club has donated $1,000 to Girls Athletics (Volleyball, Basketball), as we voted at the March Meeting.

Our officers wish you the best and safest remainder of 2020.

Dr. Shirley Theriot, President
UTA Retirees Club


Club Origin

In 1985, Elwood Preiss, executive assistant to President Wendell Nedderman, called a group of people together to discuss the formation of an organization for UT Arlington retirees. The group included John Gardner, who was named chair of the Steering Committee; Joe Spradlin, who became vice chair/newsletter editor; and members Betty Hamilton, Fred Hunstable and Mary Smith.

Members of the Steering Committee formed several goals for the proposed Retirees Club:

  • Provide retirees with a means to sustain their relationship with the University, renew old friendships and make new ones.

  • Create fellowship opportunities for retirees to play games or gather for conversation.

  • Bring in University administrators to keep retirees informed about new developments and goals of the University.

  • Provide programs for enlightenment and entertainment.

The Steering Committee produced bylaws to govern the club. Officers included President, President-Elect, VP Membership, Secretary, Treasurer and Newsletter Editor. In 1988, the office of Games Coordinator was added. In 1989, the office of President-Elect became VP Programs.

In 1999, the Retirees Club formed a Retiree Roll of Honor to recognize the contributions of those club members who filled leadership positions in the club. Currently, 27 members have received this honor. They are listed here by year of induction.

To further recognize the contributions of UT Arlington Retirees to the university and community, in 2007 the club awarded it's inaugural Distinguished Retiree Service Award to Elwood Preiss, proclaiming the award to now be called the Elwood Preiss Retiree Service Award. Subsequent awards have been issued to Joe Spradlin and Thurman Jasper.

For more information on becoming a member of the Retiree Club, e-mail Dr. Shirley Theriot, President at

Upcoming Events

Office of Human Resources Home Page