Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Spring 2018

Inquiry Magazine Archive



See a selection of the recent awards and honors our researchers, artists, educators, and writers have earned  

Robert J. Gatchel, Distinguished Professor of Psychology and the Nancy P. & John G. Penson Endowed Professor of Clinical Health Psychology, was awarded the American Psychological Foundation's 2017 Gold Medal Award for Life Achievement in the Application of Psychology.

The International Conference on Computational and Experimental Engineering and Sciences honored Kenneth Reifsnider with a lifetime achievement award. Dr. Reifsnider is a Presidential Distinguished Professor and director of the Institute for Predictive Performance Methodologies.

Frank Lewis, Moncrief-O'Donnell Endowed Chair at the UTA Research Institute and professor of electrical engineering, received the Albert Nelson Marquis Lifetime Achievement Award and the Liaoning China Friendship Award.

Sedrick Huckaby, assistant professor of art, was named the 2018 Texas State Visual Artist 2-D by the Texas Commission on the Arts.

The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers named Presidential Distinguished Professor of Physics David Nygren the winner of the 2018 Marie Sklodowska Curie Award, which recognizes outstanding contributions to the field of nuclear and plasma sciences and engineering.

Daniel Armstrong, Robert A. Welch Distinguished Professor, and Purnendu "Sandy" Dasgupta, the Hamish Small Chair in Ion Analysis, were selected for The Analytical Scientist's fifth annual Power List edition, which recognizes the best and brightest analytical scientists in the world.

Bob Woods, longtime mechanical engineering professor and founder of the FSAE racing team, was named a 2017 Piper Professor by the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation.

More articles from this issue

UT Arlington - Office of Research