Skip to content

The University of Texas at ArlingtonThe University of Texas at Arlington

College of Science


Welcome from the Chair

Jianzhong Su
Jianzhong Su
Professor and Department Chair, Mathematics

Welcome to the website of the Department of Mathematics at the University of Texas at Arlington.

The department is a major center for mathematics research and education in the Dallas/Fort Worth metroplex and north Texas. It serves more than ten thousand students every year and features nationally recognized faculty with outstanding accomplishments in teaching, research, and service.

The department offers a variety of degree programs, including B.A., B.S., M.A., M.S., and Ph.D. in pure and applied mathematics, statistics, and mathematics education. Students in these degree programs receive rigorous training in critical thinking, logic analysis, problem solving, and computational simulations. They are well-prepared for a wide range of careers in industry, finance, education, and government agencies.

Our undergraduate students enjoy a stimulating, challenging, and friendly learning environment. There is a very active student chapter of the Mathematical Association of America (MAA) in the department. It has become a focal point for our students to build peer support network, develop professional skills, and organize social and extra-curricular activities. Many of our undergraduate students participate in research and attend regional and national mathematics conferences to present papers. Our undergraduate student teams have won mathematics competitions at the state and national levels. The department has recently received major grants with more than $1.2 million in total funding from the National Science Foundation to offer generous SURGE and UTTER scholarships to our undergraduate students.

Our graduate enrollment has more than doubled over the last 5 years. There are currently over 110 graduate students in our master's and doctoral programs. Most of them receive financial support as graduate fellows or graduate teaching or research assistants. The department recently received a $2.85 million GK-12 grant from the National Science Foundation and three GAANN grants with more than $1.6 million in total funding from the US Department of Education. These grants provide qualified students with generous fellowships. The new Visiting Scholar Program in the department has provided graduate students with valuable opportunities to interact with visiting students, postdoctoral fellows, and visiting professors from around the world. During the past two years, the department has hosted visiting scholars from over 10 countries across four continents.

The department faculty are well-known for their accomplishments in teaching and research. Among them are three current members in the UT Arlington Academy of Distinguished Teachers, four University of Texas system Regent's Outstanding Teaching Award winners, and many recipients of university and State level teaching awards. Currently, more than 80% of mathematics faculty are involved in external grants, with funding from the National Science Foundation, National Security Agency, Air Force Office of Scientific Research, US Department of Education, US Department of Defense, and Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. Both graduate and undergraduate students have opportunities to participate in research projects funded by these grants.

The department has also been hosting various professional conferences and special events, colloquia and seminars, and the annual UT Arlington Calculus Bowl. These activities have greatly enhanced our students' learning experience at UT Arlington and brought significant visibility and recognition to the department and the university.

To learn more about our academic programs, our campus environment, and our faculty and student accomplishments, I invite you to navigate through our website. If you would like to visit our Department or obtain additional information, please do not hesitate to contact us.

I wish you a pleasant experience surfing our website,

Jianzhong Su, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Chair