College of Liberal Arts
UT Arlington Music
UT Arlington Music Department

Dr. Hannah Leffler

Adjunct Assistant Professor
Area: Music Theory and Music Appreciation

Phone: 817-272-3471
Office Location: FA 235
Degree(s): D.M.A University of North Texas, M.M. University of Northern Iowa, B.A. Oklahoma City University
Mentis Profile:

Dr. Hannah Leffler, a Miyazawa Emerging Artist, serves on the music faculties of University of Texas Arlington and El Centro College. She has held flute faculty positions at Luther College, University of Northern Iowa, Northeast Iowa School of Music, the Lutheran Summer Music Academy, and numerous high schools and middle schools in the Dallas-Fort Worth metroplex. She completed her Doctorate of Musical Arts degree in flute performance at the University of North Texas and worked as Teaching Fellow. Her primary teachers at UNT were Professor Terri Sundberg and Dr. James Scott. She has been a featured guest artist and clinician at numerous schools and events across the Midwest, including the Exploring Chamber Music Festival held at the University of Northern Iowa. She performs frequently with the Oklahoma City Philharmonic and has been a principal substitute flutist for the Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra, the Waterloo-Cedar Falls Symphony Orchestra, and the Dubuque Symphony Orchestra. She is a current member of the Movēre Woodwind Quintet, comprised of Lutheran Summer Music Festival faculty. In addition, Hannah is the founding member of WoodWired, an electroacoustic duo with bass clarinetist Cheyenne Cruz. (

She received a Master’s Degree in Flute Performance from the University of Northern Iowa, where she studied with Dr. Angeleita Floyd and served as her Graduate Assistant. After finishing her degree, she was named the winner of the UNI Outstanding Creative Master’s Thesis Award and was selected by faculty nomination to be honored as an Outstanding Alumni of the UNI Graduate School. She graduated summa cum laude from Oklahoma City University with a Bachelor’s Degree in Flute Performance and was a student of Professor Parthena Owens. Additional teachers include Stefán Ragnar Höskuldsson, Kristin Grant, and Elizabeth McNutt.

 Most recently, Hannah was a prizewinner in the 2017 National Flute Association’s Young Artist Competition. She was also named a winner of the annual Francis Walton Artist Competition. In 2012, she received first place in the NFA’s Orchestral Audition and Masterclass Competition. Hannah has been a prizewinner in the Myrna Brown Artist Competition, the Atlanta Young Artist Competition, the Crescendo Music Awards, and the Couer d’Alene Young Artist Competition.