Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.


New Dean of Honors College is named

Thursday, May 1, 2008

Bookmark and Share

Media Contact: Sue Stevens

ARLINGTON - Dr. Victoria Farrar-Myers, professor of political science at The University of Texas at Arlington and leader of the university’s Quality Enhancement Plan during the recent Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) reaffirmation review process, has been named Dean of the Honors College. Farrar-Myers will assume her new role on September 1, replacing retiring Dean Robert McMahon."The university is deeply appreciative of Dr. McMahon's service to the Honors College andI am delighted that the search committee, chaired by Dean of Libraries Gerald Saxon,chose such a well-qualified successor to continue building the college's outstanding programs," said Interim Provost Ronald L. Elsenbaumer.

Dr. Farrar-Myers, who came to UT Arlington in 1997, holds a Bachelor of Science degree Magna Cum Laude in political science and public administration from Russell Sage College, a Master of Arts degree in political science from the University of Illinois and a doctorate in political science from the University at Albany, SUNY.

"I am very pleased with the selection of Dr. Farrar-Myers to be the next dean of the Honors College," said James D. Spaniolo, president of UT Arlington. "She is energetic, creative, and dedicated to the mission of the Honors College. We are fortunate to have someone who is so committed and prepared to take on this important challenge."

Dr, Farrar-Myers specializes in the American presidency, presidential-congressional relations, separation of powers and campaign finance reform. She is the author of “Scripted for Change: The Institutionalization of the American Presidency,” (Texas A&M Press, 2007) and the co-author of two books with CQ Press, “Legislative Labyrinth: Congress and Campaign Finance Reform” (2001) and “Limits and Loopholes: The Quest for Money, Free Speech and Fair Elections” (2007). During 1997-1998, she served as an American Political Science Association Congressional Fellow. Among her many honors, she was the recipient of the 2001 University of Texas at Arlington's Chancellor's Council Award for Excellence in Teaching, the 2005 Arlington Star-Telegram Service Learning Award and the 2007 UT Arlington Honors College Distinguished Faculty Award.

“It will be my distinct honor and privilege to work with the staff in the Honors College to carry on the rich tradition of excellence for which the college is known. I am excited to collaborate with colleagues across the university to generate additional opportunities to enhance our students’ success,” said Dr. Farrar-Myers.


The University of Texas at Arlington is an Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action employer.